Kenosha, WI   An overflow crowd jammed the Brat Stop’s Pawkway Chateau for Wilmot Raceway’s annual Awards Party. Trophies and checks were handed out to the top 5 point finishers in each of Wilmot’s six core classes. Additionally the champions received jackets from Hoosier Tire and framed 8×10 photos from Bruce Palla of Mindtz Photography. Matt Vandervere (410 Winged Sprints), Jordan Mattson (wingLESS Sprints), Mark Heinert (winged 1000cc Mini Sprints), Mike Simons II (Modifieds), Pat Rossmann (Street Stocks), and Courtney Atkinson (Bandits) were crowned 2017 Wilmot Raceway Champions. Several other special awards were handed out, including; Crane Family Racing’s two-car effort of wingLESS drivers Derek & Nathan Crane being recognized as Wilmot Raceway’s Team of the Year. Bandit driver Tony Barron was the raceways Rookie of the Year. And past 9-time IRA Champion turned co-Race Director Joe Roe received a pair of Dedication Awards including one of the Henry Babicz Memorial Awards presented by long time Wilmot Raceway announcer Mike Babicz. Some of the other very special awards went to The Simons Family, veteran sprint racer Dennis Spitz, The Klemko Family, rookie Rod Colburn, mini sprint team Larry & Mike Nau, and SS champ Rossmann. Mindtz Photograpy choices for Best Appearing cars went to the #03 Modified of ageless Lee Tibitts, mini sprint racer Nick Sheridan’s #88, Bandit racer David McKellips Hot Wheels #12, SS racer #65 of Mark Baker, #14aj of 410 racer Wayne Modjeski, and wingLESS racer #91s of Jimmy Sivia. Kenosha County Fair’s Denise Zirbel spoke of the dedication and investment the fairboard will continue to put towards the raceway, and thanked co-race directors Steve Sinclair & Joe Roe, Kim Tennyson and Tiffany Taylor, Nick Simons,and the entire Wilmot Raceway staff for their efforts. She also pointed out Ken Iles of Carriage Auto Body for his generous donation towads a new scoreboard he made in 2016, which became a reality in 2017. The colorful Ray Underwood and Babicz shared the emcee duties, and as per usual Grandstand Video’s Jeff Fischer opened the party in style with a music/video highlighting a memorable 2017 season. The 2018 season gets underway April 28th with weekly racing. Several special events are on tap for the historic third-mile including visits by the World of Outlaw Sprints, The Bumper To Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints, The Dirt King Late Models, The American Ethanol LM Tour, POWRI Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League, Badger Midgets, Wisconsin wingLESS Sprints, WIMS Mini Sprints, and much more. Special thanks to track point fund sponsors; Hoosier Tire, R.A Adams Enterprises, Don’s Auto & Machine, Paddock Lake Bumper To Bumper, Fec’s Place, Silver Lake Auto Body, and Fox Lake Harbor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>