Matt Vandervere of Zion, Illinois bested a record 39-car AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprint Car Series field for his first Wilmot Raceway 20-lap feature win of the season.    “I want to dedicate the win to Bill Grogan who is having some health issues,” said Vandervere following his third overall Series win, referring to longtime Wilmot supporter and owner of Beach Park Freight Lines.  “Chris (Dodd) runs hard and clean.  It was a great race.”

Dodd weathered a couple of early race cautions in front of the pack.  Eight laps from the finish, Vandervere overtook the front.  Fast qualifier Mitchell Davis of Auburn, Illinois took second.  Tim Cox of Park City, Illinois methodically worked his way up from 11th starting spot to third.  Dodd ended up fourth.  Derek Crane of Waukegan, Illinois was fifth.

“That was some race,” said Pat Rossmann of Wadsworth, Illinois following his 20-lap street stock victory by less than a foot over runner-up Dustin Richards of Bristol.  “Cody (Erickson) and Dustin both were tough to get around.  They were fun to run with.”

Richards was second.  Erickson of Algonquin, Illinois took third as the front trio crossed within three car lengths of each other.  Kenosha’s Craig Kreuser was fourth.  Big Bend’s Mark Baker recovered from a mid-race tangle to finish a strong fifth.

“I used the same set up from the same date in 2003,” said Genoa City’s Nick Simons following a wire to wire 20-lap modified feature win, his second of the season.  “It worked perfectly.”

Muskego’s Al Atkinson was second.  Eagle’s Steve Mueller third. Mukwonago’s Mike Knurr fourth.  Joe Huenfeld of Cedarville, Illinois fifth.

“I’m getting more comfortable at the victory lane speech, but the race isn’t getting any easier,” said Scott Quarnstrom of Lake Villa, Illinois referring to his second 15-lap Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Car main event win of his career and the season.

“It’s more fun this time,” Quarnstrom added, referring to a season high full 20-car feature field which he kept at bay.

Although Quarnstrom led from flag to flag, the race was red flagged at the halfway point when Steve Ellis of Pleasant Prairie was uninjured after barrel-rolling multiple times in turn three. Chilton’s Brandon Goesen came from ninth to finish second by less than a car length at the checkered.  Milwaukee’s Tony Barron was third.  Waterford’s Kyle Sudduth fourth.  Mt. Pleasant Dave McKellips was fifth.

The Bumper to Bumper Interstates Racing Association (IRA) Outlaw Winged Sprint Car Series returns to its roots on Saturday, August 4.  In its 51st season, IRA will recognize the three individuals who began the organization, Ray Toft, Whitey Harris and the late Junior Dodd.  The winner of the IRA feature will have their name added to the Founders Trophy sponsored by the Vintage Modified Stock Car Association which is displayed at the Southeastern Wisconsin Racing Hall of Fame in Hartford.

The AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprints are challenging the POWRI Lucas Oil WAR Series in a showdown of the two organizations.

Completing the all sprint car program are the Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprints.

Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. with on track activity slated to commence at 5:45 p.m. and racing to follow.  Grandstand admission is $25.00 for ages 12 and over, $5.00 for ages 7-11, with ages 6 and under admitted free.  Active military personnel with an ID card receive a $5.00 discount.  Wilmot Raceway is a one-third mile clay oval located on the Kenosha County Fairgrounds in Wilmot, Wisconsin featuring acres of free parking.

The A3 modified driven by Johnny Reimer during the early days of the IRA, now owned by Reimer’s nephew Mel Both, will be on display in the grandstand area.

For the latest information on Wilmot Raceway phone the trackside race line 262-862-2090, check the official web site or the track Facebook page.

Natalie Klemko of Grayslake, Illinois, WingLess Sprint Car driver in her second full season, will have her car on display and greet fans 6-8 p.m. Tuesday, July 31 at Sport Clips of Antioch on Route 173.


AUTOMETER WISCONSIN WINGLESS SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Matt Vandervere, Zion, IL; 2. Mitchell Davis, Auburn, IL; 3. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 4. Chris Dodd, Trevor; 5. Derek Crane, Waukegan, IL; 6. Ryan Zielski, Oconomowoc; 7. Jimmy Kouba, Byron, MN; 8. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 9. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 10. Craig Lager, Union Grove; 11. Jordan Mattson, Milwaukee; 12. Allen Hafford, Beach Park, IL; 13. Nathan Crane, Waukegan; 14. Jimmy Sivia, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 15. Doug Schenck, Cottage Grove; 16. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 17. Zach Raidart, Antioch, IL; 18. James Walldan, Winthrop Harbor; 19. Patrick Haynes, Manteno, IL; 20. Travis Mahoney, Olgesby, IL; 21. Rusty Egan, Round Lake Heights, IL; 22. Jake Kouba, Minneapolis, MN.

1ST 12-LAP  “B” MAIN: 1. Jimmy Kouba; 2. Stanford; 3. Raidart; 4. Craig Campton, Pardeeville; 5. Johnny Fahl, Brown Deer; 6. Shawn Swim, Winthrop Harbor; 7. Vince Bartolotta, Muskego; 8. Garrett Deieso, Wadsworth; 9. Natalie Klemko, Grayslake, IL; 10. James Wehrman, Kenosha; 11. Rod Colburn, New Berlin; 12. Zach Hansen, New Berlin.

2ND 12-LAP “B” MAIN: 1. N. Crane; 2. Mattson; 3. Walldan; 4. Scott Grissom, Winthrop Harbor; 5. Jordan Paulsen, Trevor; 6. Greg Olsen, Round Lake Heights; 7. Dennis Spitz, Lewisburg, KY; 8. Tom Eller, Zion; 9. Paul Shaffer, Milwaukee; 10. William Huck, Mukwonago; 11. Steve Clott, Madison.

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Egan; Schenck; Dodd; Lager.

FAST QUALIFIER: Davis(:15.466 seconds).

MODIFIEDS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 2. Al Atkinson, Muskego; 3. Steve Mueller, Eagle; 4. Mike Knurr, Mukwonago; 5. Joe Huenfeld, Cedarville, IL; 6. Mike Simons II, Genoa City; 7. John Dost, Bristol; 8. Tony Izzo, Capron, IL; 9. Morgan Sheppard, Genoa City; 10. Lee Tibbitts, Hebron, IL; 11. John Hill, Waterford; 12. Terry Hilgendorf, McHenry, IL; 13. Mike Conn, Big Bend; 14. Scott Barnharst, Franklin; 15. Jack Williams, Rockford, IL.

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: N. Simons; Mueller.

FAST QUALIFIER: M. Simons(:17.896 seconds).

STREET STOCKS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Pat Rossmann, Wadsworth, IL; 2. Dustin Richards, Bristol; 3. Cody Erickson, Algonquin, IL; 4. Craig Kreuser, Kenosha; 5. Mark Baker, Big Bend; 6. Josh Gehrig, Pleasant Prairie; 7. Jesse Knutson, Greenfield; 8. Chad Hagler, McHenry; 9. Kevin Domrose, Big Bend; 10. Courtney Atkinson, Muskego; 11. Brandon Mertes, Antioch; 12. Carl Sturt, Wadsworth; 13. Jeremy Olson, Lake Villa, IL; 14. Bo Aherns, Waukegan.

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Richards; Kreuser.

FAST QUALIFIER: Rossmann(:18.476 seconds).

BANDIT 4-CYLINDER STOCK CARS: 15-LAP FEATURE: 1. Scott Quarnstrom, Lake Villa; 2. Branden Goeser, Chilton; 3. Tony Barron, Milwaukee; 4. Kyle Sudduth, Waterford; 5. Dave McKellips, Mt. Pleasant; 6. Rob Wachsmuth, Williams Bay; 7. Kody Molitor, Trevor; 8. Jonathon Smith, Bristol; 9. Sam Van Patten, Antioch; 10. John Tuttle, Chicago, IL; 11. Brad Becker, Burlington; 12. Dale Ehleiter, Union Grove; 13. Carl Benn, Lisbon; 14. Scott Ellis, Lake Villa; 15. Ryan Braun, Brookfield; 16. Steve Ellis, Pleasant Prairie; 17. Allen Maher, Jr., Menomonee Falls; 18. Louie Toutant, Genoa City; 19. John Cole, McHenry; 20. Steve Doherty, Sugar Grove, IL.

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Maher; Quarnstrom.