Jimmy Sivia of Winthrop Harbor, Illinois captured his first 20-lap AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprint Car feature ever highlighting Wilmot Raceway’s Memorial Day Special Saturday, May 26.
“This is a family affair and it is great to finally be able to have them all in victory lane,”  said Sivia.  “It was a lot of fun battling Ryan Zielski the last 10 laps and especially the final three.  It was great.”
Sivia took the point from early race leader Scott Grissom, holding top spot until a caution just after the midway point.  Zielski and Sivia traded slide jobs slicing inside of each other numerous times during the closing laps.  At the finish Sivia’s win was by less than a car length over Zielski of Oconomowoc, the evening’s fast qualifier of the 34 cars on hand.  Cottage Grove’s Doug Schenck was third.  Tim Cox of Park City, Illinois fourth.  Jimmy Kouba of Byron, Minnesota fifth.
Not to be out done, Mike Knurr of Mukwonago, who had won features at other tracks, finally cracked victory lane at Wilmot following a marathon 20-lap modified feature.  “I’m not sure what’s up with the car because it just isn’t sounding right.  At least it made it through all of the caution periods.”
Despite the ailing mount, Knurr held off a fast charging runner-up Al Atkinson of Muskego who Knurr post-race acknowledged for his support.  New Berlin’s Brad McGuire took third edging out fourth place Mike Simons II of Genoa City.  Genoa City’s Nick Simons was fifth.
Racine’s Charlie Pinkalla powered his Covair body street stock to the 20-lap feature win with Big Bend’a Mark Baker right on his bumper in the closing half of the race.  “I could feel Baker in the car,” Pinkalla quipped.  “I knew he was there.  It was a lot of fun.”
Cody Erickson of Algonquin, Illinois was third.  Bristol’s Dustin Richards was fourth.  Muskego’s Courtney Atkinson was fifth.
“It’s been at least four years, but this is fun,” said Wheatland’s Taylor Dawson following his win in the 15-lap Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Car feature. “My boss gave me $100.00 to get some new tires, and they worked.  It’s just a regular endure car motor, but it’s a lot of fun to drive.”
Janesville’s James Bell was second.  Milwaukee’s Tony Barron took third in a three-wide finish for the final podium spot.  Waterford’s Kyle Sudduth was fourth with Pleasant Prairie’s Scott Ellis coming across fifth less than a car length behind.
Rod Colburn of New Berlin flipped his wingless sprint car during qualifying, resulting in his being transported to an area hospital for a check up after which he was released.
The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series invades Wisconsin’s original home for sprint car racing, Wilmot Raceway, on Saturday, June 2.  AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprints and the Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprints are on the program.  Grandstands open at 4:00 p.m. with hot laps at 6:30 p.m. followed by racing at 7:30 p.m.
Advance tickets including a special package of a pit pass, reserved grandstand seat and 2018 World of Outlaws poster are available by contacting SLSPromotions.com.
For weather updates phone the Wilmot Raceway race line 262-862-2090, check the official track web site wilmotraceway.com or the Facebook pages of the World of Outlaws, SLSPromotions or Wilmot Raceway.
AUTOMETER WISCONSIN WINGLESS SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Jimmy Sivia, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 2. Ryan Zielski, Oconomowoc; 3. Doug Schenck, Cottage Grove; 4. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 5. Jimmy Kouba, Byron, MN; 6. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 7. Dennis Spitz, Lewisburg, KY; 8. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 9. Nathan Crane, Waukegan, IL; 10. Jordan Mattson, Milwaukee; 11. Garrett Deieso, Wadsworth, IL; 12. Jake Kouba, Minneapolis, MN; 13. Johnny Fahl, South Milwaukee; 14. Rusty Egan, Round Lake Heights, IL 15. Craig Lager, Union Grove; 16. James Walldan, Winthrop Harbor; 17. Craig Campton, Pardeeville; 18. Allen Hafford, Beach Park, IL; 19. Scott Grissom, Winthrop Harbor; 20. Tom Eller, Zion, IL.
12-LAP “B” MAIN: 1. Lager; 2. Walldan; 3. Egan; 4. Mattson; 5. Derek Crane, Waukegan; 6. Vince Bartholotta, Muskego; 7. Zach Raidart, Antioch, IL; 8. Shawn Swim, Winthrop Harbor; 9. Natalie Klemko, Grayslake, IL; 10. Kevin Hinich, Kenosha; 11. Steve Clott, Milwaukee; 12. Greg Olsen, Woodstock, IL; 13. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 14. James Wehrman, Kenosha; 15. William Huck, Mukwonago; 16. Jordan Paulsen, Trevor.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Cox; Campton; Sivia; Jimmy Kouba.
FAST QUALIFIER: Zielski(:15.315 seconds).
MODIFIEDS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Mike Knurr, Mukwonago; 2. Al Atkinson, Muskego; 3. Brad McGuire, New Berlin; 4. Mike Simons II, Genoa City; 5. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 6. Scott Barnharst, Franklin; 7. Tony Izzo, Capron, IL; 8. Dustin Jackson, New Berlin; 9. Steve Mueller, Eagle; 10. John Dost, Bristol; 11. Jack Williams, Rockford, IL; 12. Jason Wirth, Elkhorn; 13. Danny Walter, Burlington; 14. Tim Hamburg, Dixon, IL; 15. Joel Seegert, Sheboygan; 16. Josh Heinze, Waterford; 17. Lee Tibbitts, Hebron; 18. Terry Hilgendorf, McHenry, IL; 19. Andrew Hamburg, Dixon; 20. Mike Conn, Big Bend.
12-LAP “B” MAIN: 1. A. Hamburg; 2. Conn; 3. Barnharst; 4. Wirth; 5. Williams; 6. Dustin Kroening, Hebron; 7. John Hill, Waterford; 8. Will Sorce, Franksville; 9. Blaze March, Muskego; 10. Jeremy Johnson, East Troy.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: N. Simons; A. Atkinson; McGuire.
FAST QUALIFIER: Mueller(:16.979 seconds).
STREET STOCKS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Charlie Pinkalla, Racine; 2. Mark Baker, Big Bend; 3. Cody Erickson, Algonquin, IL; 4. Dustin Richards, Bristol; 5. Courtney Atkinson, Musekgo; 6. David Paskiewicz, Downers Grove, IL; 7. Brandon Mertes, Antioch; 8. James Jaime, Bristol; 9. Chad Hagler, McHenry, IL; 10. Joey Marcomb, Antioch; 11. Nate Coon, Hebron, IL; 12. Craig Kreuser, Kenosha; 13. Nick Smalley, Burlington; 14. Carl Sturt, Wadsworth, IL; 15. Josh Gehrig, Pleasant Prairie; 16. Brianna Olsen, Burlington; 17. Joe Suhfras, Hales Corners.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Pinkalla; Paskiewicz.
FAST QUALIFIER: Baker(:18.443 seconds).
BANDIT 4-CYLINDER STOCK CARS: 15-LAP FEATURE: 1. Taylor Dawson, Wheatland; 2. James Bell, Janesville; 3. Tony Barron, Milwaukee; 4. Kyle Sudduth, Waterford; 5. Rob Wachsmuth, Williams Bay; 6. Scott Quarnstrom, Lake Villa, IL; 7. John Cole, Palatine; 8. Steve Ellis, Pleasant Prairie; 9. Scott Ellis, Pleasant Prairie; 10. Kody Molitor, Trevor; 11. Brad Becker, Burlington; 12. Kevin Gentry, Pell Lake.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Becker; Sudduth.