(Wilmot, Wisconsin, Saturday, June 11, 2016)–Tommy Sexton of Antioch, Illinois was only supposed to shake down a backup car, but ended up driving it all night and scored the 25-lap Meyer & Son Service Wisconsin Wingless Sprints presented by the IRA feature victory to highlight the Saturday, June 11 racing program at Wilmot (Wis.)Raceway.

“Todd (Lehr) was trying something new with the carburetor and asked me to qualify the car, then he said I could run it in the heat race and after I won that, then he said I might as well drive it in the feature,” said Sexton, who “retired” from racing in 2012. “The car ran awesome and it was a lot of fun, especially beating Todd.”


photo by Mindz I Photography

“This is different for me, being in victory lane and collecting the win as a car owner,” said Lehr.  “It was great, especially with a large crowd of people from Meyer and Son Service here.  They are an awesome company and do a lot for our division, so to see their two cars finish one-two is great.”

Sexton and Lehr were followed at the checkered by Jim Scanlon of Zion, Illinois in third, Allen Hafford of Beach Park, Illinois in fourth and Derek Crane of Waukegan, Illinois in fifth.

“This is super to come out our first night here at Wilmot and win the feature,” said Nick Daywalt of Hubertus, the 2015 Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprints season champion, after winning the 20-lap feature in his initial appearance. “We’ve been taking care of some family obligations after five years of not missing a show.  We just decided to step back after winning the series title last year, but it still feels great.”


photo by Otaku Photography

Nick Petska of Spring Grove, Illinois finished second, Mark Heinert of Oak Creek, the 2015 Wilmot Raceway champion, took third; Adam Schroeder of Zion, Illinois was fourth and Kyle Daywalt of Hubertus completed the top five.

Scott Kuxhouse of Antioch scored his first 20-lap modified feature win of the season.  “The track surface was super, but boy it sure was hot,”  said Kuxhouse, the defending and 7-time Wilmot champion.  “There was a lot of good, clean racing which made it a lot of fun.”


photo by Mindz I Photography

At the finish it was Kuxhouse, Nick Simons of Genoa City second, Josh Heinze of Waterford third, Tony Izzo of Capron fourth and Joel Crowbridge of Burlington fifth.

Burlington’s Michael Olsen won the first 20-lap street stock feature of his career bringing him to an emotional victory lane celebration.  “I can’t believe it happened,” said Olsen, who is in his fifth season of racing. It’s a very special win because we have the car painted as a tribute to cancer survivors and victims of cancer as breast cancer has struck very close to my family.  I just can’t believe we are finally in victory lane.”

Rounding out the top five behind Olsen were Jim Vandervere of Gurnee, Illinois in second, Pat Rossmann of Wadsworth, Illinois third, John Janssen of Richmond, Illinois fourth and Gerry Stollenwerk of Silver Lake fifth.

photo by Otaku Photography

photo by Otaku Photography

The first 15-lap Bandit 4-cylinder stock car feature of the 2016 season proved one for the ages as Courtney Atkinson of Muskego scored the win.  The 23-year-old second generation driver became the first female feature winner at Wilmot in over two decades.  “This is really great,” said Atkinson, whose father, Al Atkinson, is a past Wilmot sportsman and late model champion.  “I have to thank my mom and my dad for all of their support.  Winning the first feature I ever ran in this division is really awesome.”

Atkinson, a former kart racing champion, was followed to the finish by Kenosha’s Blake Kreuser in second, Oak Creek’s Jeremy Aiken third, Union Grove’s Dale Ehleiter fourth and East Troy’s Zach Wampole fifth.

Wilmot Raceway’s 3/8-mile banked clay oval on the Kenosha County Fairgrounds will host its traditional Father’s Day evening UMP Summer Nationals Late Model Tour event on Sunday, June 19 along with Wilmot’s modified and street stock divisions.  Grandstand admission is $25.00 for anyone ages 12 and older, with all youth ages 11 and under admitted free.  Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. with racing slated for 6:45 p.m.  There will be no Saturday racing at Wilmot on June 18.

For the latest updates phone the trackside race line 262-862-2090 or check the official web site or the track Facebook page.


MEYER & SON WISCONSIN WINGLESS SPRINTS PRESENTED BY THE IRA: 25-LAP FEATURE: 1. Tommy Sexton, Antioch, Illinois; 2. Todd Lehr, Genoa City; 3. Jim Scanlon, Zion, IL; 4. Allen Hafford, Beach Park, IL; 5. Derek Crane, Waukegan, IL; 6. Craig Lager, Union Grove; 7. Mike Sullivan, Burlington; 8. Jake Kouba, Minneapolis, Minnesota; 9. Jimmy Kouba, Byron, MN; 10. Craig Campton, Pardeeville; 11. Dan Wade, Pleasant Prairie; 12. Chuck Shaer, Lake Villa, IL; 13. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 14. George Gaertner Jr., Salem; 15. Dave Maynard, Twin Lakes; 16. James Walldan, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 17. Doug Schenck, Cottage Grove.

HEAT WINS: Lehr; Sexton.

FAST QUALIFIER: Lehr(:16.447 seconds).

WISCONSIN-ILLINOIS MINI-SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Nick Daywalt, Hubertus; 2. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 3. Mark Heinert, Oak Creek; 4. Adam Schroeder, Zion; 5. Kyle Daywalt, Hubertus; 6. Tim Brannam, Holiday Hills, IL; 7. Zach Emmons, Franklin; 8. Ron Brannam, Barrington, IL; 9. C.J. Malueg, Johnsburg, IL; 10. Mike Neau, Kenosha; 11. Ian Stear, Harvard, IL; 12. Jeff Schmidt, Slinger; 13. Kyle Koch, McFarland; 14. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 15. John Smith, St. Charles, IL; 16. Kevin Frederiksen, Milwaukee; 17. Darren Ihrke, Kenosha; 18. Jason Jones, North Chicago, IL; 19. Steve Clott, Kenosha; 20.  Kurt Brown, Brookfield; 21. John Kirk, Johnsburg.

HEAT WINNERS: T. Brannam; K. Daywalt.

FAST QUALIFIER: Schroeder(:15.386 seconds).

MODIFIEDS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Scott Kuxhouse, Antioch; 2. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 3. Josh Heinze, Waterford; 4. Tony Izzo, Capron; 5. Joel Crowbridge, Burlington; 6. Mike Knurr, Muckwonago; 7. Jeff Bodendorfer Jr., Waterford; 8. Steve Mueller, Eagle; 9. Lee Tibbitts, Hebron, IL; 10. Scott Barnharst, Franklin; 11. Scott Crowbridge, Burlington; 12. John Dost, Bristol; 13. Andrew Kiedrowski, Union Grove; 14. Jason Wirth, Elkhorn; 15. Mike Conn, Big Bend; 16. Danny Walter, Burlington; 17. Blaze March, Muskego; 18. Rob Maule, Hebron; 19. Mike Simons II, Genoa City; 20. Cameron Kuxhouse, Antioch.

HEAT WINNERS: Maule; Bodendorfer; S. Kuxhouse.

STREET STOCKS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Michael Olsen, Burlington; 2. Jim Vandervere, Gurnee, IL; 3. Pat Rossmann, Wadsworth, IL; 4. John Janssen, Richmond, IL; 5. Gerry Stollenwerk, Silver Lake; 6. Cody Erickson, Algonquin, IL; 7. Cody Potter, Pell Lake; 8. Joey Marcomb, Antioch; 9. Brandon Feit, Union Grove; 10. Bo Ahern, Waukegan; 11. Al Mueller, Kenosha; 12. Brandon Mertes, Antioch; 13. David Jones, North Chicago; 14. Mark Baker, Milwaukee; 15. Charlie Pinkalla, Racine; 16. Carl Sturt, Wadsworth; 17. Carl Benn, Menomonee Falls; 18. Jennifer Swiercz, McHenry, IL; 19. Joshua Marcomb, Antioch;

HEAT WINNERS: Rossmann; Olsen; Pinkalla.

BANDIT 4-CYLINDER STOCK CARS: 15-LAP FEATURE: 1. Courtney Atkinson, Muskego; 2. Blake Kreuser, Kenosha; 3. Jeremy Aiken, Oak Creek; 4. Dale Ehleiter, Union Grove; 5. Zach Wampole, East Troy; 6. Shawn Roberts, Kenosha; 7. David McKellips, Mt. Pleasant; 8. James Creekmore, Zion; 9. Allen Maher Jr., Menomonee Falls; 10. Robert Sorenson, Kenosha.