(Wilmot, Wis., Friday, August 30, 2019)–Beaver Dam’s Jeremy Schultz put his name in the record books at Wilmot Raceway by taking top honors in the 30-lap Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association (IRA) Tony Stewart Sprint Car Challenge Friday, August 30.

The victory, Schultz second of the season at Wilmot, earned him the Bill Klein Tribute trophy while adding his name to the perennial IRA Founders Trophy.

“Tony (Stewart) was sticking to the high side so I gave it a shot low,” said Schultz. “I’ve won some big races but this one ranks right up there with the best of them. There’s a lot of history at Wilmot and with the IRA, so to win this event is special.”

The IRA was founded at Wilmot 52 years ago by Ray Toft, Whitey Harris and the late Junior Dodd. The trio are honored on the Founder’s Trophy sponsored by the Southeastern Wisconsin Racing Hall of Fame. Schultz name will be added to the perennial award which will be displayed at the Hall’s Museum in Hartford. Schultz received the Bill Klein Tribute award as well. Klein, the first IRA president, passed away earlier this summer. A large contingent of his family was in attendance.

Stewart, of Columbus, Indiana, making his first ever winged sprint car start at Wilmot, brought the crowd to its feet winning the third heat race on the final lap of Jordan Goldesberry of Springfield, IL. Stewart, by virtue of the redraw selected by a random young fan in the crowd, started on the pole of the 24-car field.

Stewart weathered a series of cautions until the final two yellow flags set up late race drama.

With three laps to go, Schultz shot to the inside of Stewart on the restart with the two going side by side. Coming for the white flag, Stewart dove low coming out of turn four spinning bringing out the final caution. Schultz took top spot on the restart going to his second Wilmot IRA win of the season.

Joey Moughan of Springfield, IL finished second. Beaver Dam’s Scotty Nietzel caught Howards Grove’s Ben Schmidt on the final straightaway for third. Schmidt was fourth. Goldesberry fifth. Stewart ended up 11th.

The team gave me a great car,” said Moughan, who became Wilmot’s regular season 410 winged outlaw sprint car champion. “I guess when you don’t know about points you don’t worry about them or race for them. Our team is coming together. Hopefully we finish strong in the IRA season as well..”

“We’re ending up just a couple spots short,” said Nietzel, noting the Fair Night IRA feature saw him with a top three finish as well. “Hopefully next year when we’re here we can move it up.”

Zach Raidart of Antioch, IL won his fourth 20-lap AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprint feature of the season. “Each one is that much harder but feels that much better to get,” said Raidart.

Salem’s Jordan Paulsen took the early lead. Paulsen and Raidart made contact in turn four getting Paulsen completely airborne late in the first half of the feature. Paulsen was eliminated due to the damage.

Raidart went on to the victory. Oconomowoc’s Ryan Zielski was second. Burlington’s Rusty Egan third. Jimmy Sivia of Winthrop Harbor, IL fourth. Greg Olsen of Round Lake Beach, IL fifth.

C.J. Maleug of Johnsburg, IL won his fifth IRA Lightning Sprint feature of the year at Wilmot. “This team is great and the car was set up perfectly,” said Maleug, who led wire to wire. Waukesha’s Mark Heinert was second. Sun Prairie’s Kevin Douglas third. Kenosha’s Mike Neau fourth. Ion Stear of Hebron, IL fifth.

Labor Day weekend racing continues at Wilmot Raceway with season championship night Saturday, August 31 for the WingLess Sprints, Modifieds, Street Stocks and Lightning Sprints.

Grandstands open at 5 p.m. with on track activity at 6 p.m. and racing to follow. August 31 grandstand admission is $15.00 for everyone age 12 and over, $5.00 for ages 7-11 with ages 6 & under admitted free. For updates phone the trackside raceline 262-862-2090, check the track website or the official track Facebook page.

The Dirt King Late Model tour invades Wilmot Raceway on Saturday, September 7 for the Jim “Wildman” Watson Classic. Wisconsin WingLess Sprints, modifieds and street stocks are on the program. A huge bike giveaway is planned for youth ages 16 & under. Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. with on track activity at 6:00 p.m. and racing scheduled for 6:45 p.m. Grandstand admission on September 7 is $20.00 for ages 12 and over with $5.00 for ages 7-11 with ages 6 and under admitted free.

SUMMARY – WILMOT RACEWAY, WILMOT, WIS. – FRIDAY, AUGUST 30, 2019 – IRA FOUNDERS NIGHT – TONY STEWART SPRINT CAR CHALLENGE BUMPER TO BUMPER INTERSTATE RACING ASSOCIATION OUTLAW SPRINTS BILL KLEIN TRIBUTE 30-LAP FEATURE: 1. Jeremy Schultz, Beaver Dam; 2. Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL; 3. Scotty Nietzel, Beaver Dam; 4. Ben Schmidt, Howards Grove; 5. Jordan Goldesberry, Springfield, IL; 6. Danny Schlafer, Sussex; 7. Kris Spitz, Salem; 8. Jake Blackhurst, Hanna City, IL; 9. Dave Uttech, Kenosha; 10. Jeremy Schroeder, Lake Villa, IL; 11. Tony Stewart, Columbus, IN; 12. Nick Matusewski, Antigo; 13. Hunter Custer, Chippewa Falls; 14. Sean Rayhall, Marietta, GA; 15. Patrick Haynes, Bradley, IL; 16. Johnny Fahl, Brown Deer; 17. Brian Strane, Paris; 18. Russell Borland, Kewauskum; 19. Bill Balog, Hartford; 20. Scotty Thiel, Sheboygan; 21. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 22. Todd Daun, Pleasant Prairie; 23. Austin Deblauw, Holiday Hills, IL; 24. Wayne Modjeski, Oak Creek; 25. Matt Wiese, Lomira.

10-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Nietzel; Uttech; Stewart.


WINGLESS SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Zach Raidart, Antioch, IL; 2. Ryan Zielski, Oconomowoc; 3. Rusty Egan, Burlington; 4. Jimmy Sivia, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 5. Greg Olsen, Round Lake Heights, IL; 6. Derek Crane, Waukegan, IL; 7. Allen Hafford, Beach Park, IL; 8. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 9. Chris Dodd, Trevor; 10. Jordan Mattson, Milwaukee; 11. Travis Mahoney, Olgesby, IL; 12. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 13. Patrick Haynes, Bradley, IL; 14. George Gaertner, Salem; 15. Paul Shaffer, Milwaukee; 16. Charlies Spoonmore, Somonauk, IL; 17. Tom Eller, Zion, IL; 18. Zach Hansen, New Berlin; 19. Dennis Spitz, Lewisburg, KY; 20. BG Wood, Kenosha; 21. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 22. Jordan Paulsen, Salem; 23. Shawn Swim, Winthrop Harbor; 24. Greg Alt, Delavan.

12-LAP “B” MAIN: 1. D. Spitz; 2. Alt; 3. Hansen; 4. Eller; 5. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 6. Natalie Klemko, Bristol; 7. Vince Bartolotta, Muskego; 8. Tommy Colburn, New Berlin; 9. Lance Walldan, Winthrop Harbor; 10. George Gaertner III, Salem; 11. James Wehrman, Kenosha; 12. Steve Clott, Bradley; 13. William Huck, Mukwonago; 14. Bryan Haynes, Bradley; 15. Ryan Irwin, Genoa City(Did Not Start).

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Cox; Zielski; Olsen; Paulsen. FAST QUALIFIER: Cox(:14.790 seconds).

IRA LIGHTNING SPRINTS: 15-LAP FEATURE: 1. C.J. Maleug, Johnsburg, IL; 2. Mark Heinert, Waukesha; 3. Kevin Douglas, Sun Prairie; 4. Mike Neau, Kenosha; 5. Ion Stear, Hebron, IL; 6. Ron Brannam, Barrington, IL; 7. Tim Brannam, Holiday Hills, IL; 8. Jeremy Douglas, McFarland; 9. Kevin Frederiksen, Hales Corners; 10. Max Brannam, Holiday Hills; 11. Tim Christensen, Winthrop Harbor; 12. John Kirk, Johnsburg; 13. Michael Ungar, Madison; 14. Shawn McGill, Johnsburg; 15. Derek Fortier, Racine(DNS); 16. Josh Rehberg, Frsnklin(DNS); 17. Jeff Schmidt, Slinger(DNS).

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: K. Douglas; R. Brannam.

FAST QUALIFIER: Stear(:14.971 seconds).