Schenck, M. Simons, Traber, Barron Score Meyer Family Night Feature Wins

    Cottage Grove’s Doug Schenck weathered a series of cautions to capture his first 20-lap AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprint Feature of the season highlighting the Wm. M. Meyer & Son Family Night at Wilmot Raceway Saturday, June 23 in Wilmot, Wisconsin.
    Genoa City’s Mike Simons hit the trifecta with his third victory of the season, starting in the front and weathering a series of caution periods slowing the pace of the 20-lap modified feature.
    Milwaukee’s Tony Barron made it a memorable night with his first 15-lap Bandit 4-cylinder stock car feature win ever.
    Waterford’s Darryl Traber made a substitute driving start memorable scoring the 20-lap street stock feature win in his first appearance of the season
    “We had eight wins last year, but getting the first one this season was not easy,” said Schenck. “I knew Tim (Cox) was coming, and the yellows made it hard to stay in a rhythm and hitting your marks.  I have to thank the track crew for the hard work in even getting the track so we could race with all of the rain.”
    Tim Cox of Park City, Illinois was second.  Milwaukee’s Jordan Mattson third.  Salem’s Chris Dodd fourth.  Nathan Crane of Waukegan, Illinois fifth.
    “It took a long time, but it was worth it,” said M. Simons.  “I have to thank my sponsors, family and the fans.”
    M. Simons led wire to wire.  Muskego’s Al Atkinson roared back following a early race tangle which restarted him at the rear of the field to take second.  Mukwonago’s Mike Knurr was third.  Eagle’s Steve Mueller fourth.  Franklin’s Scott Barnharst fifth.
    “This feels great,” said Barron, admitting, “I’ll get better at this (victory lane interview) when I win another one.  I have to thank the fans, track crew, sponsors and my family.”
    Barron took the lead from the pole and was never headed despite constant pressure and several caution periods depleting the field.  At the finish the only three cars on the track were Barron in first, Scott Ellis of Lake Villa, Illinois second, Waterford’s Kyle Sudduth third.  Trevor’s Kody Molitor was credited with fourth and Scott Quarnstrom of Lake Villa fifth.
    Traber broke through a three-wide battle for the lead during the closing laps of the main, going on to the win.  Pat Rossman of Wadsworth, Illinois was second.  Racine’s Charlie Pinkalla third, Kenosha’s Dustin Richards fourth.  Pleasant Prairie’s Josh Gehrig fifth.
    Fans, drivers, crew members and staff donated clothing to the Foster Care Resale Store of Kenosha.  Michael Gladser of Cary, Illinois, Olympic snow ski long jumping USA team member sponsored by Meyer, raised the American Flag during the National Anthem ceremony.  Wm. W. Meyer & Sons of Libertyville, Illinois made several donations in their Race For Charities fifth annual program.
    Next up for Wilmot Raceway, located on the Kenosha County Fairgrounds, is Badger Midgets, modifieds, street stocks, Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Cars and Vintage Modifieds on Saturday, June 30.  Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. with on track activity at 6:00 p.m. and racing to follow.  Adult grandstand admission ages 12 & over is $15.00, ages 7-11 are $5.00 with 6 & under admitted free.  Active military with an ID card receive a $5.00 discount.
    For updates phone the track side race line 262-862-2090, check the web site or the official track Facebook page.
    Wilmot Raceway is participating in a special promotion at Gurnee Mills with several WingLess sprints on display at the Bass Pro Shops and Sears entrances on Saturday, June 30 between 10:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m., and on Sunday, July 1, it will be some Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Cars and Street Stocks during the same time period.  Joining the race drivers will be National Service Dog of the Year Gander and Companion and Army Veteran Lon Hodge.  The Kunes Country Stateline Superstore Wilmot Raceway Pace Truck will lead the annual Crusin’ Antioch on Wednesday, June 27, departing the Wal-Mart parking lot at 6:00 p.m., cruising to downtown Antioch where participants will be parking on Main Street.  The Cruise is open to all makes and models, including motorcycles and race cars.  For information on any of the events or to participate contact Mike Babicz at or 262-206-5465.
AUTOMETER WISCONSIN WINGLESS SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Doug Schenck, Cottage Grove; 2. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 3. Jordan Mattson, Milwaukee; 4. Chris Dodd, Trevor; 5. Nathan Crane, Waukegan, IL; 6. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 7. Allen Hafford, Beach Park, IL; 8. Derek Crane, Waukegan, IL; 9. Craig Campton, Pardeeville; 10. Rod Colburn, New Berlin; 11. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 12. Natalie Klemko, Grayslake, IL; 13. Zach Raidart, Antioch, IL; 14. Ryan Zielski, Oconomowoc; 15. Jimmy Kouba, Byron, MN; 16. Matt Vandervere, Zion, IL; 17. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 18. Shawn Swim, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 19. Jimmy Sivia, Winthrop Harbor; 20. Travis, Mahoney, Olgesby, IL; 21. Johnny Fahl, Brown Deer; 22. Jake Kouba, Minneapolis, MN.
1st 12-LAP “B” MAIN: 1. Raidart; 2. Stanford; 3. Swim; 4. Scott Grissom, Winthrop Harbor; 5. Vince Bartolotta, Muskego; 6. Craig Lager, Union Grove; 7.James Wehrman, Milwaukee; 8. William Huck, Mukwonago; 9. Paul Shaffer, Milwaukee; 10. Garrett Deieso, Wadsworth, IL.
2nd 12-LAP “B” MAIN; 1. D. Crane; 2. N. Klemko; 3. C. Klemko; 4. James Walldan, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 5. Dennis Spitz, Lewisburg, KY; 6. Greg Olsen, Round Lake Beach, IL; 7. Tom Eller, Zion; 8. Steve Clott, Milwaukee; 9. Jordan Paulsen, Trevor.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Hafford; Sivia; Zielski; Fahl.
FAST QUALIFIER: Cox(:14.903 seconds).
MODIFIEDS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Mike Simons II, Genoa City; 2. Al Atkinson, Muskego; 3. Mike Knurr, Mukwonago; 4. Steve Mueller, Eagle; 5. Scott Barnharst, Franklin; 6. John Dost, Bristol; 7. Andrew Kiedrowski, Waupaca; 8. Mike Conn, Big Bend; 9. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 10. Jason Wirth, Elkhorn; 11. John Hill, Waterford; 12. Terry Hilgendorf, McHenry, IL; 13. Steve Mueller, New Berlin; 14. Dustin Jackson, New Berlin; 15. Zeke Bishofberger, Fort Atkinson; 16. Jeremy Johnson, East Troy; 17. Lee Tibbitts, Hebron, IL(Did Not Start); 18. Tony Izzo, Capron, IL(DNS).
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: M. Simons; Atkinson; Mueller.
FAST QUALIFIER: Knurr(:16.687 seconds).
BANDIT 4-CYLINDER STOCK CARS: 15-LAP FEATURE: 1. Tony Barron, Milwaukee; 2. Scott Ellis, Lake Villa, IL; 3. Kyle Suduth, Waterford; 4. Kody Molitor, Trevor; 5. Scott Quarnstrom, Lake Villa; 6. John Cole, Palatine, IL; 7. Brad Becker, Burlington; 8. Rob Wachsmuth, Williams Bay; 9. Josh Werkmeister, Burlington.
STREET STOCKS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Darryl Traber, Waterford; 2. Pat Rossman, Wadsworth, IL; 3. Charlie Pinkalla, Racine; 4. Dustin Richards, Kenosha; 5. Josh Gehrig, Pleasant Prairie; 6. Mark Baker, Big Bend; 7. Cody Erickson, Algonquin, IL; 8. Brandon Mertes, Antioch, IL; 9. Marc Caswell, West Allis; 10. Brad Caswell, West Allis; 11. Carl Sturt, Wadsworth; 12. Craig Kreuser, Kenosha; 13. Kevin Domrose, Big Bend; 14. Joe Suhfras, Hales Corners.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Pinkalla; Erickson.
FAST QUALIFIER: Baker(:18.433 seconds).