(Wilmot, Wis., Saturday, May 17, 2014)–Union Grove’s Chris Carlson outlasted three late race cautions to score his second 20-lap modified feature win of the season highlighting Armed Forces and Family Night at Wilmot Raceway on Saturday, May 17.
Rob Maule of Hebron, Illinois won his first 20-lap street stock feature of the season in just his third time out in the Homan Family Racing car.
Kyle Dawalt of Hubertus won his first 25-lap Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprint feature of the season nipping runner-up and fast qualifier Adam Schroeder of Zion, Illinois by less than one car length.
The 4-cylinder 15-lap feature was interrupted by a red flag five laps into the event when Lake Geneva’s Justin Binns had his car barrel-roll several times and bounce off the front end of Antioch’s Vince Heywood Jr.’s car coming to rest in the middle of the front straightaway. Binns, after walking to the ambulance, was transported to a local medical facility for a check up.
Scott Redden of Woodstock, Illinois scored the overall 4-cylinder stock car feature and Pro-4 top finish. Gary Mondus of Streamwood, Illinois with a third place overall finish was the highest Bandit Class placer taking top honors in that division.
In the modified feature, Mike Simons of Genoa City jumped in front keeping the top spot until Carlson powered his way into the lead on lap seven. Three consecutive yellow flags on the final lap saw the main going into “overtime.” Carlson was up to the task, pulling away to the win. Nick Simons of Genoa City came across second. Antioch’s Cameron Kuxhouse edged out Mike Simons at the checkered flag for third. Bristol’s John Dost finished a strong fifth.
“I wasn’t sure it was ever going to end,” said Carlson. “The track was tricky, but my crew did a good job setting the car up for me.”
The hotly contested street stock feature saw three different leaders plus numerous lead changes during the opening 10 laps. Racine’s Charlie Pinkalla, who won the opening night feature two weeks earlier, held the top spot during a pair of caution periods on laps 10 and 12 for minor incidents. On the second restart, Maule shot into the lead out of turn two.
A final yellow with six laps remaining had the field close up behind Maule, but he was up to the challenge scoring his first win of the season. “It means a lot to get the #53 back into victory lane again in memory of Tommy Homan Jr.,” said Maule, referring to the late former driver whose car number and family continues to race in his memory with Tom Homan Sr.of Antioch, Illinois serving as crew chief and car owner.
Bristol’s Dustin Richards came on to edge out Pinkalla for second. Gerry Stollenwerk of Silver Lake finished fourth. Burlington’s Jason Conrad was fifth.
Redden took the lead just after the restart following the red flag for the lap five incident as early race leader Taylor Dawson of Wheatland drifted high in turn two, ultimately retiring from the event with a flat tire.
Redden went on to the win with Erich Grosch of Arlington Heights, Illinois finishing second in both the Pro-4 class and overall. Mondus was third, first in the Bandits. Brian Hillringhouse of South Milwaukee fourth overall and second in the Bandits. Tom Happ Jr. of Alsip, Illinois came across fifth overall and third in the Pro-4 division.
“I never would have gotten him,” said Redden, referring to Dawson’s misfortune while leading. “It was just luck, but I guess you have to have luck to win races some times.”
“This is a big win,” said Mondus, who drives a team car to the Homan Family Racing street stock which Maule won in earlier. “It’s great for the Homan Family to put both number 53’s in victory lane on the same night.”
In the motorcycle engine-powered winged mini-sprint feature, Kyle Dawalt and Schroeder battled wing to wing throughout much of the final half of the race, trading top spot numerous times as they worked their way around the one-third mile clay oval. Schroeder appeared to have the edge with less than three laps to go, but Daywalt was able to regain top spot on the white flag lap. One final run by Schroeder fell just short coming out of turn four.
“Adam is fun to run with and this was a lot of fun,” said Daywalt, noticeably winded from the intense battle. “I thank all of the fans for coming out and I hope it was as much fun for them as it was for me in the car.”
Schroeder came across second. Hubertus’ Nick Daywalt was third. Kenosha’s Mike Neau fourth. Tim Brannam of Holiday Hills, Illinois completed the top five.
Next up for Wilmot Raceway is the first appearance of the season at the original home of the Bumper To Bumper Interstates Racing Association(IRA) Outlaw Sprint Car Series highlighting the track’s Memorial Day Weekend Spectacular on Saturday, May 24.
Joining the traveling winged warriors will be the Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprints, street stocks and modifieds. Grandstands open at 5 pm with on track activity getting underway about 6 pm.
Wilmot Raceway is a banked one-third mile clay oval located on the Kenosha County Fairgrounds in Wilmot, Wisconsin. For information and updates check the Raceway web site
20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Chris Carlson, Union Grove; 2. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 3. Cameron Kuxhouse, Antioch, IL; 4. Mike Simons, Genoa City; 5. John Dost, Bristol; 6. Joel Crowbridge, Burlington; 7. Mike Sullivan, Trevor; 8. Dave Jaeger, Richfield; 9. Zeke Bishofberger, Fort Atkinson; 10. Mike Learman, Woodstock, IL; 11. Phil Rehberg, Waukesha; 12. Lee Tibbits, Hebron, IL; 13. David Wirth, Milwaukee; 14. Andy Gross, Hartford; 15. Jeff Bodendorfer, Waterford; 16. Steve Mueller, Eagle; 17. Scott Barnharst, Franklin; 18. Mike Conn, Big Bend; 19. Wade Steinmann, South Wayne; 20. Taylor Scheffler, Greenfield.
10-LAP LAST CHANCE QUALIFIER: 1. Bishofberger; 2. Scheffler; 3. Learman; 4. Wirth; 5. Jason Holmes, Kenosha; 6. Bart Sievert, West Allis; 7. Terry Hilgendorf, McHenry, IL.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Crowbridge; Carlson; Jaeger.
20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Rob Maule, Hebron, IL; 2. Dustin Richards, Bristol; 3. Charlie Pinkalla, Racine; 4. Gerry Stollenwerk, Silver Lake; 5. Jason Condrad, Burlington; 6. Chuck Shaer, Lake Villa, IL; 7. Dustin Kroening, Wonder Lake, IL; 8. Erin Pusateri, Johnsburg, IL; 9. Dan Huber, Paddock Lake; 10. Cody Potter, Genoa City; 11. Trent Andersen, Antioch, IL; 12. Brandon Mertes, Antioch, IL; 13. David Jones, North Chicago, IL; 14. D.J. Hacker, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 15. Joey Marcomb, Antioch, IL; 16. Nate Coon, Hebron, IL; 17. Carl Sturt, Wadsworth, IL.
8-LAP HEAT RACE WINNERS: Pinkalla; Mertes.
15-LAP FEATURE: 1. Scott Redden, Woodstock, IL(Pro-4); 2. Erik Grosch, Arlington Heights, IL(Pro-4); 3. Gary Mondus, Streamwood, IL(Bandit); 4. Brian Hillringhouse, South Milwaukee(Bandit); 5. Tom Happ Jr., Alsip, IL(Pro-4); 6. Rob Ehlenburg, Woodstock, IL(Bandit).
8-LAP HEAT RACE WINNERS: Mondus(Bandit); Hillringhouse(Bandit); Taylor Dawson, Wheatland(Pro-4).
25-LAP FEATURE: 1. Kyle Daywalt, Hubertus; 2. Adam Schroeder, Zion, IL; 3. Nick Daywalt, Hubertus; 4. Mike Neau, Kenosha; 5. Tim Brannam, Holiday Hills, IL; 6. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 7. Matt White, Kenosha; 8. Doug Johnson, Coleraine, MN; 9. Jeff Schmidt, Slinger; 10. Kyle Koch, McFarland; 11. Ron Brannan, Barrington, IL: 12. Greg Fortier, Racine; 13. Kevin Frederiksen, Milwaukee; 14. Mark Heinert, Oak Creek.
15. John Smith, St. Charles, IL; 16. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 17. Ion Stear, Harvard, IL.