Davey Ray of Indianapolis, Indiana was glad Wilmot Raceway held its Independence Day Holiday Spectacular Day One Saturday, June 30.  Despite some tracks cancelling due to the intense heat, the Kenosha County Fair and Wilmot Raceway staff decided to go on with the program.  Ray scored a clean sweep, posting fast time, winning the third heat and taking the feature win.Davey Ray,    Ray took the lead out of a three-wide restart five laps into the 20-lap Badger Midget Feature going on to score the victory.  “I have to thank the track crew for doing an outstanding job preparing this surface,”  said Ray, who started tenth in the 23-car field.  “Where I come from we have a lot of dust, but there was none out there.  I’m looking forward to coming back (August 11).”

Andrew Felker of Carl Junction, Missouri took second holding off third place finisher Chase McDermand of Springfield, Illinois in a hotly contested battle.  Scott Hatton of Roscoe, Illinois was fourth.  Jack Routson of Waterman, IL was fifth.

“Our regular track in Iowa cancelled because of the heat, and we were thinking did we want to sit around or go racing,” said Jeff Larson of Freeport, Illinois, who chalked up a clean sweep posting fast time and taking a heat win enroute to the feature checkered.  “We decided, heck, let’s go to Wilmot.  I’m glad we did.  They did a great job preparing this track and it was a lot of fun to race on.  We race three nights per week so this is a good win for the guys who work on this car all of the time.”

Larson overtook early race leader Scott Barnharst of Franklin, then weathered a series of yellow flags resulting in four green-white-checkered restarts at the end.  Larson was up to the challenge in his first run at Wilmot this season.  Fort Atkinson’s Zeke Bischofberger took second nipping third place Genoa City’s Nick Simons on the final lap. Genoa City’s Mike Simons II was fourth.  Muskego’s Al Atkinson recovered to take fifth after restarting in the rear following a early race accident resulted in him pitting.


“I just get to drive it, and my crew does a great job getting the car ready,” said Racine’s Charlie Pinkalla after winning his third 20-lap street stock feature of the season.  “This is like it used to be, a lot of fun racing with a great bunch of guys and gals.  This is what it’s all about.”

Pat Rossmann of Wadsworth, Illinois charged to second in the late running.  Dustin Richard’s of Bristol was third.  Big Bend’s Mark Baker fourth.  Kenosha’s Craig Kreuser fifth.

“I hated to see my teammate break, but that’s the way it goes sometimes,” said Scott Quarnstrom of Lake Villa, IL following his first ever 15-lap Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Car feature win.  “It was a lot of fun.  I have to thank everyone who has supported me.  This feels great.”

In a battle of attrition, Waterford’s Kyle Sudduth appeared headed for his first ever feature win until a broken right-rear wheel in turn two with two laps to go ended his day.  On the ensuing restart, Pleasant Prairie’s Scott Ellis, in Quarnstrom’s team car, looked like he was going to take his first feature checkered, but then he snapped off a wheel bringing out another caution

With three cars left on the track,Quarnstrom held on for the victory.  Robin Wachsmuth of Williams Bay had a career best second.  Jonathan Smith of Bristol was third in his first ever race as those trio survived for podium finishes.  Scott Ellis was credited fourth with Sudduth fifth.

Wilmot Raceway continues Independence Day Holiday Spectacular Round II with Saturday Night Thunder July 7 featuring AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprints, modifieds, street stocks and Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Cars on the program.  Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. with on track activity at 5:45 p.m. and racing to follow.  Grandstand admission is $15.00 for everyone age 12 and older, $5.00 ages 7-11, with 6 & under admitted free.  Active military personnel with ID cards receive a $5.00 discount.

For updates phone trackside race line 262-862-2090, check the official track web site wilmotraceway.com or the Raceway Facebook page.

Off track Wilmot Raceway is participating in the Village of Antioch July 4th Parade.  The Kunes Country Ford Stateline Superstore Pace Truck will have U.S. Army Veteran Lon Hodge and Service Dog of the Year Gander riding along.  Natalie Klemko of Grayslake and Jordan Paulsen of Trevor will have AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprint Cars joining the pace truck.


BADGER MIDGETS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1.  Davey Ray, Indianapolis, IN; 2. Andrew Felker, Carl Junction, MO; 3. Chase McDermand, Springfield, IL; 4. Scott Hatton, Roscoe, IL; 5. Jack Routson, Waterman, IL; 6. Zach Boden, Cambridge; 7. Kurt Mayhew, Demotte, IN; 8. Mitchell Davis, Auburn, IL; 9. Kevin Olson, Machesney Park, IL; 10. Ryan Probst, New Lenox, IL; 11. Mike Stroik, West Bend; 12. John Smith, St. Charles, IL; 13. Kevin Frederiksen, Milwaukee; 14. Kyle Brinkmann, Platteville; 15. Kyle Koch, Madison; 16. Jake Goeglein, Sullivan; 17. Mike Unger, Madison; 18. Ken Hanson, Vinton, IA; 19. Harrison Kleven, Marshall; 20. Laura Smith, Mukwonago; 21. Tyler Baran, Joliet, IL; 22. Jordan Mattson, Milwaukee; 23. Vince Bartolotta, Muskego.

8-LAP HEAT WINS: Koch; McDermand; Ray.

FAST QUALIFIER: Ray(:15.175 seconds).

MODIFIEDS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Jeff Larson, Freeport, IL; 2. Zeke Bischofberger, Fort Atkinson; 3. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 4. Mike Simons II, Genoa City; 5. Al Atkinson, Muskego; 6. Steve Mueller, Eagle; 7. Scott Barnharst, Franklin; 8. Lee Tibbitts, Hebron, IL; 9. Terry Hilgendorf, McHenry, IL; 10. Jack Williams, Rockford, IL; 11. Morgan Sheppard, Genoa City; 12. Jason Wirth, Elkhorn; 13. Mike Knurr, Mukwonago; 14. John Dost, Bristol; 15. Tony Izzo, Capron, IL; 16. Jon Hill, Waterford.

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Larson; M. Simons.

FAST QUALIFIER: Larson(:16.970 seconds).

STREET STOCKS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Charlie Pinkalla, Racine; 2. Pat Rossmann, Wadsworth, IL; 3. Dustin Richards, Bristol; 4. Mark Baker, Big Bend; 5. Craig Kreuser, Kenosha; 6. Cody Erickson, Algonquin, IL; 7. Josh Gehrig, Pleasant Prairie; 8. Kevin Domrose, Big Bend; 9. Bo Ahern, Waukegan, IL; 10. Courtney Atkinson, Muskego; 11. Brandon Mertes, Antioch, IL.

8-LAP HEAT WINS: Erickson; Pinkalla.

BANDIT 4-CYLINDER STOCK CARS: 15-LAP FEATURE: 1. Scott Quarnstrom, Lake Villa, IL; 2. Robin Wachsmuth, Williams Bay; 3. Jonathan Smith, Bistol; 4. Scott Ellis, Pleasant Prairie; 5. Kyle Sudduth, Waterford; 6. Jordan Paulsen, Trevor; 7. Tony Barron, Milwaukee; 8. Brad Becker, Burlington; 9. Allen Maher Jr., Lisbon; 10. John Cole, Palatine, IL; 11. John Tuttle, Chicago, IL; 12. Tim Christenson, Kenosha.

8-LAP HEAT WINS: Quarnstrom; Becker.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>