7/13  Included in the Powri / Badger Midget Special were several of Wilmot Raceway’s regular classes. All divisions provided great racing.

This coming Saturday night features the Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints and the UNOH All-Star Circuit of Champion Sprints in a co-sanctioned showdown. See national stars like Dale Blaney and Tim Shaffer take on our Bill Balog, Tommy Sexton, and Mike Kertscher for Wilmot Raceway Sprint superiority. Joining the Sprints will be the Mods and Mini Sprints in a great all open wheel show.

Charles Pinkalla topped Pat Rossman, Jim Vandervere, Ronnie Mink, and Jeremy Olson in a very competitive R.A. Adams Enterprises / Advance Auto Parts Street Stock A-main. Heat wins went to Rossman and Dustin Richards.

Scott Johnson picked up a thrilling Fec’s Place / Outlaw Race Parts Mini Sprint feature. Mark Heinart, Tim Brannam, Adam Schroeder, and Nick Petska followed the fleet Johnson to the checkerd. Schroeder, Kyle Koch, and Heinart won heat races.

Eric Groesch is the 4 cylinder man at Wilmot, and he proved it again this week by topping Pro 4 drivers Joe Summers and Josh McCoy. The Bandit 4 winner was Shawn Kasten with Justin Binns and young Ashley Panek completing a fleet top trio.

 “Kuhn notches first win of ‘season at Wilmot”

By Bryan Gapinski

Sun Prairie, Wis., June 30—Brad Kuhn captured the 7th annual “Salute to Harry Turner” 30-lap feature Saturday Night at Wilmot Raceway. The event was co-sanctioned by the Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series and  POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series. The event featured seven lead changes among four drivers.

Seth Motsinger flipped on the opening lap, causing a complete restart. Motsinger restarted and finished in 12th place. Pole sitter Zach Daum jumped into the lead at the start pacing the initial three laps,before Jake Blackhurst paced the field for two laps. Kuhn passed Blackhurst for the lead and was followed by Hagen. Hagen was even with Kuhn at the start/finish line on Lap 9. Kuhn retook the top spot on the next lap. Two cautions appeared during this time with Hagen moving to lead each time, but surrendered the lead back to Kuhn, since a lap failed to be completed.

Hagen took the lead from Kuhn exiting Turn 2 on lap 12, and slowly increased his lead. Daum challenged Kuhn for second place at the midway. With ten laps remaining Kuhn trailed Hagen by almost two seconds. Kuhn began closing on Hagen, and pulled to his rear bumper with four laps remaining. The next circuit, Hagen slowed, coming to a stop on the track, giving the top position to Kuhn.

Kuhn ran the final three laps unchallenged driving the Bill Ecker owned Spike/Fontana No. 57 finishing 0.88 seconds ahead of Daum, POWRi points leader Andrew Felker, Blackhurst and Austin Brown. It marked the third victory in the Turner event for the Avon, Ind. driver who also moved into the Badger points lead.

“It feels good to final get a feature win this season, Darren’s trouble at the end played into our favor tonight” commented Kuhn, who is seeking his fourth career Badger Driving Title.

Matt Paderta won the 12-lap Badger 600 Micro feature for his second victory of the season. Jake Reif appeared headed for an easy victory  but suffered mechanical problems during a caution with three laps remaining handing the victory to Paderta, who finished ahead of Jerry Reif, Chad Bogar, Brandon Sletten and  Tory Strauss.



30-lap Feature: 1. Brad Kuhn; 2. Zach Daum; 3. Andrew Felker; 4. Jake Blackhurst; 5. Austin Brown; 6. Garrett Aitken; 7. Scott Hatton; 8. Danny Stratton; 9. Parker Price-Miller; 10. Todd Lehr; 11. Tyler Thomas; 12. Seth Motsinger; 13. Mike Hess; 14. Darren Hagen; 15. Justin Peck; 16. Alex Bright; 17.Daniel Robinson; 18. Colton Cottle; 19. Eric Johnson.

10-lap Heat Race Winners: Daum, Price-Miller, Blackhurst.

Cars Present: 21 Feature Lap Leaders: Daum 1-3, Blackhurst 4-5, Kuhn 6-8, Hagen 9, Kuhn 10-12, Hagen 13-27, Kuhn 28-30.

*Brandon Waelti flipped in third heat race, Motsinger flipped on opening lap of feature. Both drivers uninjured. |


15-lap Feature: 1. Matt Paderta; 2. Jerry Reif; 3. Chad Bogar; 4. Brandon Sletten; 5. Tory Strauss; 6. Dustin Stefan; 7. Jake Reif; 8. Vance Lein; 9. Will Gerrits; 10. Ben Paderta; 11. Jason Dull; 12. Jason Tetrault; 13. Scott Crawford; 14. Norm Ehrke..

8-lap Heat Race Winners: M. Paderta, B.Paderta.

Feature Lap Leaders: Jake Reif 1-9, M. Paderta 10-12.

# # #