BY MICHAEL H. BABICZ (Wilmot, Wis., Saturday, July 26, 2014)–Sun Prarie’s Brandon Sletten scored a victory in the 20-lap Salute To Harry Turner Badger Micro Midget Feature Saturday, July 26 at Wilmot (WI) Raceway.

Two 2013 defending champions, Racine’s Chuck Pinkalla in the street stocks and Nick Petska of Spring Grove, IL in the Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprints each picked up 20-lap feature checkered flags.

Genoa City’s Nick Simons snapped a four-year drought by leading wire to wire for the 20-lap modified main event win.

Sletten shot inside of Fontana’s Ben Paderta in turn one to overtake the lead as the visiting 600 cc powered machines took to the challenging one-third mile clay oval. At the checkered it was Sletten, the point leader for the Angel Park Speedway in Sun Prarie, WI based series, scoring the win by a comfortable two seconds.

Rounding out the top five were Fontana’s Matt Paderta second, Chad Borger of Selinsgrove, PA third, Ben Paderta fourth and Fort Atkinson’s Norm Ehrke fifth.

“This made all of the work worth it,” said a jubilant Nick Simons. “I had no idea how close those guys(second on back) were. I’ve got to thank my sponsors, family, everybody who didn’t give up when things weren’t going well.”

N. Simons shot into the lead after several aborted attempts to get the feature underway for a series of false starts. Once the green came out to stay, N. Simons settled into a groove pulling away to an eventual win by nearly a straightaway.

A four way raging battle for second kept those drivers occupied allowing N. Simons to expand his lead to the finish. Cameron Kuxhouse of Antioch, IL nipped Nick Simons’ brother, Mike Simons of Genoa City, for runner-up. Big Bend’s Mike Conn edged out New Berlin’s Brad McGuire for fourth.

“The car ran super strong,” said Petska following his flag to flag win in the mini-sprints. “I was able to jump out on the restart(with six laps to go) and keep Nick(Daywalt) behind me.”

The yellow Petska referred to closed the field much in the same manner as it did in the earlier heat race with the same two in the same positions. Petska was up to the challenge then, and repeated it enroute to the feature win. Nick Daywalt of Hubertus ended up second with his brother, Kyle Daywalt, taking third. Adam Schroeder of Zion, IL came on strong to finish fourth. Ron Brannan of Barrington, IL completed the top five.
“Hey, that’s racing and I ended up in victory lane, so I’ll take it,” said Pinkalla, referring to a late race tangle he had with a hard charging Rob Maule of Hebron, IL. “Rob definitely had the faster car, but that’s how things go. I have to thank the sponsors of our street stock class, my sponsors on the car, my family and of course, the fans.”

Silver Lake’s Gerry Stollenwerk took the initial lead in the non-stop street stock feature. Six laps later, after Pinkalla and Maule joined Stollenwerk to make it three-wide into turn three, Pinkalla took the lead.

Maule and Pinkalla began to pull away battling each other until it appeared Maule had taken top spot heading into turn one with five laps to go. Drifting high and getting out of shape coming out of turn two, the pair touched, with Pinkalla able to retake the top spot as Maule battled to regain control. At the finish it was Pinkalla, Maule, Stollenwerk, David Jones of North Chicago, IL and Bristol’s Dustin Richards completing the top five.

The Annual Tommy Homan Memorial Street Stock Special on Saturday, August 2 is next up for the one-third mile clay oval located on the Kenosha County Fairgrounds. The event honors the memory of the late Tommy Homan who passed away from cancer. Rob Maule continues to race the Homan Family Racing of Antioch #53 with Tommy Homan’s Dad, Tom Homan, serving as crew chief.

In addition to the street stocks, modifieds, Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprints and 4-Cylinder Stock Cars featuring the Pro-4 and Bandit Divisions will all be in action.

For the latest updates phone the trackside race line 262-862-2090 or the official track web site

BADGER MICRO-MIDGETS: “SALUTE TO HARRY TURNER SPECIAL” 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Brandon Sletten, Sun Prairie; 2. Matt Paderta, Fontana; 3. Chad Bogar, Selinsgrove, PA; 4. Ben Paderta, Fontana; 5. Norm Ehrke, Fort Atkinson; 6. Zach Boden, Cambridge; 7. Will Gerrits, Waupun; 8. Jake Reif, Sun Prairie; 9. Jerry Reif, Prairie; 10. Dusty Gerrits, Waupun; 11. Tyler Brabant, Waupun; 12. Tory Strauss, Sun Prairie.
WISCONSIN-ILLINOIS MINI-SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 2. Nick Daywalt, Hubertus; 3. Kyle Daywalt, Hubertus; 4. Adam Schroeder, Zion, IL; 5. Mike Neau, Kenosha; 6. Ron Brannan Barrington, IL; 7. Doug Johnson, Coleraine, MN; 8. Derrick Fortier, Racine; 9. Ian Stear, Harvard, IL; 10. John Smith, St. Charles, IL; 11. Kevin Frederiksen, Milwaukee; 12. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 13. Kyle Koch, McFarland; 14. John Kirk, Fox Lake, IL; 15. Jeff Schmidt, Slinger; 16. Tim Brannam, Holiday Hills, IL; 17. Paul Schaeffer, Milwaukee.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Petska; T. Brannam.
MODIFIEDS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 2. Cameron Kuxhouse, Antioch, IL; 3. Mike Simons, Genoa City; 4. Mike Conn, Big Bend; 5. Brad McGuire, New Berlin; 6. John Dost, Bristol; 7. Scott Kuxhouse, Antioch; 8. Joel Crowbridge, Burlington; 9. Mike Learman Jr., Woodstock, IL; 10. Mike Sullivan, Burlington; 11. Lee Tibbitts, Hebron, IL; 12. Will Sorce, West Allis; 13. Scott Barnharst, Franklin; 14. Elmer Everman, Pleasant Prairie; 15. Josh Heinz, Wind Lake; 16. Justin Sund, Milwaukee; 17. Jeff Bodendorfer, Waterford; 18. Jimmy Morrison, Antioch; 19. Phil Rehberg, Waukesha; 20. Steve Mueller, Eagle.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: N. Simons; Morrison; Crowbridge.
STREET STOCKS; 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Chuck Pinkalla, Racine; 2. Rob Maule, Hebron; 3. Gerry Stollenwerk, Silver Lake; 4. David Jones, North Chicago, IL; 5. Dustin Richards, Bristol; 6. Brandon Mertes, Antioch; 7. D.J. Hacker, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 8. Cody Potter, Genoa City; 9. Pat Rossman, Wadsworth, IL; 10. Cody Erickson, Algonquin, IL; 11. Dustin Kroening, Wonder Lake, IL; 12. Joey Marcomb, Antioch; 13. Erin Pusateri, Johnsburg, IL; 14. Carl Stuart, Wadsworth, IL; 15. John Janssen, Genoa City; 16. Jason Condrad, Burlington.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Richards; Maule.