Marks Weathers Delay For First World of Outlaw Sprints Victory

Brent Marks of Meyerstown, PA waited through a rain delay to score his first ever World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Series victory in impressive fashion in the Badger 40 at Wilmot Raceway Saturday, June 2.

Marks, despite being in his second full-time season running with the traveling series, has one crew member helping him on race night.  The previous night, June 1, at I-96 Speedway in Michigan Marks had his first career top five finish.

Daryn Pittman of Owasso, OK was second, 4.5 seconds behind Marks.  Brad Sweet of Grass Valley, CA was third.  David Gravel of Watertown, CT, who had won the previous three World of Outlaws mains in a row at Wilmot, was fourth.  Giovani Scelzi of Fresno, CA completed the top five.

A slight mist, then a drizzle turned into a heavy downpour just as the Outlaw “B” Main passed its halfway point.  The Wilmot Raceway crew worked to get the track back in racing condition with loyal fans waiting out the delay which ended up just about two hours.

Marks was pleased with the track surface and the fact the program was completed.

Matt Vandervere of Zion, IL, 2017 Wilmot Raceway 410 sprint car regular season champion, earned the last starting berth in the 24-car field by placing sixth in the rain shortened “B” Main Last Chance Qualifier.  Vandervere put on an impressive display moving halfway through the field improving a dozen positions to finish 12th and earn the hard charger award.

Jake Kouba of Minneapolis, MN captured his first ever 20-lap AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprint series feature win leading wire to wire.

“This is my first one at Wilmot, and first in this series,” Jake Kouba said.  “I have to thank my mother who is my pit crew, and my dad (Jimmy Kouba).  It’s a great win especially keeping the 2K(his dad) behind me as well.”

Matt Vandervere, doing double-duty, finished second in a tight battle with third place Ryan Zielski of Ixonia.  Cottage Grove’s Doug Schenck was fourth.  Jimmy Sivia of Winthrop Harbor, IL was fifth.

Waukesha’s Mark Heinert dominated the 20-lap Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprint feature leading flag to flag.

“It’s been a while,” said Heinert, regarding how long between feature wins at Wilmot.  “We made one slight adjustment just before the feature, and it worked.  I have to thank my dad and my family for all of their support.  I have to thank the Wilmot Raceway staff for working the track back into shape so we could race.  Special thanks to the fans who stuck around.”

Ian Stear of Harvard, IL was second, overtaking third place Morgan Sheppard of Genoa City in the closing laps.  Waupaca’s Andrew Kiedrowski was fourth.  C.J. Malueg of Johnsburg, IL took fifth.

Wilmot Raceway’s next action is Saturday, June 9 featuring the AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprints, modifieds, street stocks and Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Cars.  Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. with racing slated for 6:45 p.m.  Adult grandstand admission ages 12 & over is $15.00, ages 7-11 is $5.00 with ages 6 & under admitted free.

For updates phone the trackside race line 262-862-2090, check the track web site, or the track’s official Facebook page.


WORLD OF OUTLAWS CRAFTSMAN SPRINT CAR SERIES BADGER 40-LAP “A” MAIN: 1. Brent Marks, Meyerstown, PA; 2. Daryn Pittman, Owasso, OK; 3. Brad Sweet, Grass Valley, CA; 4. David Gravel, Watertown, CT; 5. Giovanni Scelzi, Fresno, CA; 6. Shane Stewart, Bixby, OK; 7. Sheldon Haudenschild, Wooster, OH; 8. Donny Schatz, Fargo, ND; 9. Jason Johnson, Eunice, LA; 10. Logan Schuchart, Hanover, PA; 11. Greg Wilson, Benton Ridge, OH; 12. Matt Vandervere, Zion, IL; 13. Jeremy Schultz, Beaver Dam, WI; 14. Cory Eliason, Visalia, CA; 15. Jason Sides, Bartlett, TN; 16. Trey Datweiler, Herscher, IL; 17. Paul Nienhiser, Chapin, IL; 18. Clyde Knipp, California, MO; 19. Bill Balog, Hartland, WI; 20. Scotty Thiel, Sheboygan, WI; 21. Ian Madsen, St. Marys, New South Wales, Australia; 22. Jacob Allen, Hanover, PA; 23. Kraig Kinser, Bloomington, IN; 24. Joey Saldana, Brownsburg, IN.

B-Main – Last Chance Showdown: 1. Sides; 2. Thiel; 3. Knipp; 4. Datweiler; 5. Allen; 6. Vandervere ; 7. Justin Peck, Monrovia, IN;  8. Russel Borland, Kewaskum; 9. Wayne Modjeski, Oak Creek; 10. Raymond Hensley, Trevor.

10-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Marks; Balog; Gravel.


FAST QUALIFIER: Kinser(:12.776 seconds).

AUTOMETER WISCONSIN WINGLESS SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Jake Kouba, Minneapolis, MN; 2. Matt Vandervere, Zion, IL; 3. Ryan Zielski, Ixonia; 4. Doug Schenck, Cottage Grove; 5. Jimmy Sivia, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 6. Chris Dodd, Trevor; 7. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 8. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 9. Jimmy Kouba, Byron, MN; 10. Nathan Crane, Waukegan, IL; 11. Craig Campton, Pardeeville; 12. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 13. Derek Crane, Waukegan; 14. Rusty Egan, Round Lake Heights, IL; 15. Garrett Deieso, Wadsworth, IL; 16. Allen Hafford, Beach Park, IL; 17. Dennis Spitz, Lewisburg, KY; 18. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 19. Scott Grissom, Winthrop Harbor; 20. Jordan Mattson, Milwaukee.

12-LAP “B” MAIN: 1. Stanford;  2. Hafford; 3. Grissom; 4. Deieso; 5. Johnny Fahl, Brown Deer; 6. James Walldan, Winthrop Harbor; 7. Craig Lager, Union Grove; 8. Tom Eller, Zion, IL; 9. Shawn Swim, Winthrop Harbor; 10. Vince Bartolotta, Muskego; 11. William Huck, Mukwonago; 12. Tyler Tischendorf, Waupaca; 13. Jordan Paulsen, Trevor; 14. Natalie Klemko, Grayslake, IL; 15. James Wehrman, Kenosha; 16. Greg Olsen, Woodstock, IL.

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Zielski; Vandervere; Jake Kouba; Sivia.

FAST QUALIFIER: Cox(:15.313 seconds)

WISCONSIN-ILLINOIS MINI-SPRINTS PRESENTED BY THE IRA: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Mark Heinert, Waukesha; 2. Ian Stear, Harvard, IL; 3. Morgan Sheppard, Genoa City; 4. Andrew Kiedrowski, Waupaca; 5. C.J. Malueg, Johnsburg, IL; 6. Adam Schroeder, Zion, IL; 7. Tim Brannam, Holiday Hills, IL; 8. Ron Brannam, Barrington, IL; 9. Jeff Schmidt, Slinger; 10. Kevin Frederickson, Hales Corners; 11. Jeff Wessell, Hartford; 12. Terry Kiedrowski, Waupaca; 13. Rob Jeziorski, Kewauskum; 14. Michael Ungar, Madison; 15. Tim Christensen, Winthrop Harbor; 16. John Kirk, Johnsburg; 17. Mike Neau, Kenosha; 18. Nick Daywalt, Slinger; 19. Nick Sheridan, Fox Lake, IL; 20. Josh Rehberg, Milwaukee.

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: A. Kiedrowski; Stear.

FAST QUALIFIER: N. Daywalt(:15.777 seconds).






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.