By MICHAEL H. BABICZ (Wilmot, Wis., Saturday, July 12, 2014)–Kyle Daywalt of Hubertus won the 20-lap mini-sprint feature with Bristol’s Ronnie Mink taking the checkered in the 20-lap street stock main before rains hit the one-third mile clay oval Wilmot(Wis.) Raceway.

The sprinkles turned into a sudden shower just as the modified feature was nearing its official half-way point, with the track becoming unsafe to continue one lap short.

As a result, mother nature is listed as the official winner for the modified feature as well as the 4-cylinder stock cars with the rains washing out the remainder of the Lynch GM Superstore of Burlington and Lynch of Kenosha Family Night race program.

“I guess if my brother can’t win it, since I saw his car taken off the track on a tow truck, then why not me,” said Kyle Daywalt, referring to his brother, Nick, who flipped his car during a four-car pile up coming out of turn four on lap 13 bringing out the red flag. None of the drivers were injured, but Daywalt’s brother, along with two other cars involved, did not continue.

“The track was fast,” said Kyle Daywalt. “I have to thank my Dad who sets up the car. It’s great to get a win.”

Ron Brannam of Barrington, IL led the opening nine laps before Adam Schroeder of Zion, IL took the front at the half-way point. Kyle Daywalt shot to the inside on the restart following the red flag, overtaking Schroeder and going on to the win. Schroeder, fast qualifier Nick Petska of Spring Grove, IL, Ron Brannam and Kenosha’s Mike Neau rounded out the top five.

“This feels great,” said Mink of his first feature win of the season in the street stocks. “It’s been a rough season for us. I have to thank my Grandpa (Don Collins) who does a lot of work on the car and sets it up for me.”

“Rob (Maule) has been running strong and it was a tough battle, but clean and fun,” Mink added. “Thanks to all of our sponsors and to the great fans for sticking it out despite the threatening weather.”

Silver Lake’s Gerry Stollenwerk took the initial lead with Brandon Mertes of Antioch, IL taking command on lap two. That proved not the place to be as a lapped car spun right in front of Mertes bringing out the caution as the two collided hard in turn four. Neither driver was injured, but Mertes ended up retiring to the infield with mechanical problems.

Mink inherited the lead on the restart with a hard charging Rob Maule of Hebron, IL in the Homan Family of Antioch Race Team entry in hot pursuit. The race stayed green the rest of the way with Maule edging inside of Mink several times, but each time Mink was up to the challenge. At the checkered flag it was Mink by less than a car length with Maule second, Stollenwerk third, Bristol’s Dustin Richards fourth and D.J. Hacker of Winthrop Harbor, IL fifth.

Next up for Wilmot Raceway, located on the Kenosha County Fairgrounds, is the Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association (IRA) Outlaw Sprint Cars challenging the All Star Circuit of Champions winged warriors on Saturday, July 19, with the evening’s race program sponsored by Stritar Tree Service of Antioch.

The rescheduled Salute to the Founders of IRA, honoring Ray Toft, Whitey Harris and the late Junior Dodd, who originally organized and began the IRA back in March of 1968, will be a highlight of the evening’s pre-race festivities. Special feature trophies sponsored by the Southeastern Wisconsin Short Track Racing Hall of Fame honoring the founders will be presented.

Plans for a Wilmot Raceway/IRA Walk of Fame will be officially announced. Platinum Lawn Services of Pleasant Prarie will be handling the construction and instillation of the walk.

Modifieds, mini-sprints and 4-cylinder stock cars are joining the winged warriors at their original home town track in Wilmot.

The IRA’s first events were run on the “old track” which encircled the football field where current Wilmot High School football stadium bordering the south side of the fairgrounds. Plans are to have some of the original cars which competed in the early days of the IRA on display for fans. Toft and Harris are expected to be available to greet fans as well prior to the evening’s race program.

For the latest updates phone the trackside race line 262-862-2090 or check the official track web site




WISCONSIN-ILLINOIS MINI-SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Kyle Daywalt, Hubertus; 2. Adam Schroeder, Zion, IL; 3. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 4. Ron Brannam, Barrington, IL; 5. Mike Neau, Kenosha; 6. Ian Stear, Harvard, IL; 7. Kyle Koch, McFarland; 8. Greg Fortier, Racine; 9. Mark Heinert, Oak Creek; 10. Jeff Schmidt, Slinger; 11. John Smith, St. Charles, IL; 12. Kevin Frederiksen, Milwaukee; 13. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 14. Tim Brannam, Holiday Hills, IL; 15. Nick Daywalt, Hubertus; 16. Doug Johnson, Coleraine, MN.


STREET STOCKS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Ronnie Mink, Bristol; 2. Rob Maule, Hebron, IL; 3. Gerry Stollenwerk, Silver Lake; 4. Dustin Richards, Bristol; 5. D.J. Hacker, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 6. David Jones, North Chicago, IL; 7. Dustin Kroening, Wonder Lake, IL; 8. Joey Marcomb, Antioch, IL; 9. Chuck Pinkalla, Racine; 10. Michael Olsen, Burlington; 11. Carl Stuart, Wadsworth, IL; 12. Pat Rossman, Kenosha; 13. Brandon Mertes, Antioch; 14. Trent Andersen, Antioch.

8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Maule; Jones.


8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Chris Carlson, Union Grove; John Dost, Bristol; Scott Kuxhouse, Antioch.


8-LAP HEAT: Erich Grosch, Arlington Heights, IL(Pro-4)