(Wilmot, Wis., Saturday, May 25, 2019)–In a night of creating racing memories, Patrick Haynes of Bradley, Illinois captured a hotly contested 25-lap AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprint feature, a first in his long racing career. John Cole of McHenry, Illinois scored his first ever 15-lap Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Car feature win ever. Tim Hamburg of Dixon, Illinois ended a two-year Wilmot drought by taking top honors in the 20-lap modified feature. Two-time champion Rob Maule of Hebron, Illinois came out of semi-retirement to win the opening street stock 20-lap feature of the season.

“This is a great win for our team and me, personally, having overcome cancer five times,” said Haynes, pointing to “Five-Time Cancer Survivor” on his car in victory lane. Haynes started outside row one, leading every lap of the main which got off to a wild opening lap attempt. Nick Petska and Shawn Swim both got upside down coming to rest in the infield as the field took the green. Neither was injured, but both eliminated. Haynes stayed in front with fellow front row starter Jimmy Sivia of Winthrop Harbor, Illinois keeping the veteran in sight. As the laps wound down, the two went wheel to wheel with Trevor’s Chris Dodd making it a three-some for the point. At the checkered Haynes held off Dodd who shot to the outside ending up getting second from third place finishing Sivia on the final circuit. Burlington’s Rusty Egan took fourth in a tight battle with defending champion Tim Cox of Park City, Illinois finishing fifth.

“I have to thank my wife, Danielle, and everyone who supports us,” said a winded Cole, who finally cracked the feature win column in his third season. “I thank the track crew which did an awesome job to even allow us to race. Thank you to the fans who come to watch us do what we do, having fun.” Cole shot in front from his second row starting spot, opening up a sizeable lead which disappeared at the halfway point when the caution flew for a disabled car in turn two. Cole pulled away on the restart going on to his inaugural feature victory. Defending champion Tony Barron of Milwaukee finished second in a three-way battle with Lisbon’s Carl Benn who took third and fourth place Trevor’s Kody Molitor. Williams Bay’s Robin Wachsmuth was fifth.

Despite being a veteran of 25 years of racing, Tim Hamburg was in a brand new car in its first night out to score the win. “I knew Joey (Huenefeld) was right there, but the car was set up super and stuck to wherever I wanted to put it. This is a new chassis, but people are going to hear a lot of things about it.” Hamburg was followed across the line by second place Huenfeld of Cedarville, Illinois, who won the May 4 opening night feature. Tichigan’s Michael Wittenburg was third edging out two-time defending champion and fourth place Genoa City’s Mike Simons II. Genoa City’s Nick Simons was fifth.

“I have to thank my wife, Brooke, and dedicate this win to my Uncle Jim who passed away this last year, and his wife, my Aunt, whose birthday is (May 25) today,” said Maule, who scored his first feature win in his own car after having won last season in a borrowed car from 4-time champion Pat Rossman. Maule, starting second row outside, worked in front quickly going on to the win. Pell Lake’s Cody Potter bested third place finishing Muskego’s Courtney Atkinson in a hotly contested battle for runner-up. Early race leader Burlington’s Nick Smalley finished fourth. Brandon Mertes of Antioch, Illinois was fifth. Special thanks goes to the track preparation crew of Nick Simons, his dad Mike Simons and Jim Kuenhold, who labored throughout the heavy rains throughout the late morning to get the track raceable and even more, the pit area accessible for the race teams. “What they did was nothing short of miraculous,” said Steve Sinclair, Wilmot Raceway race director. “At 11 a.m. I did not think we had a chance in the world to go racing. They did an awesome job, as they always do, but this was above and beyond. On behalf of the drivers, crews and our great fans, and the fair board, a big thank you to Nick, Mike and Jimmy.”

The first of four First Responder Nights comes to Wilmot Raceway on Saturday, June 1. All first responders, firefighters, paramedics, EMTs, law enforcement, showing identification cards will receive complimentary grandstand admission as guests of the Kenosha County Fair and Wilmot Raceway. First Responder Nights continue Saturdays June 8, 22 and 29. Special displays, ceremonies and information tables will be part of the evening events.

Five divisions in action on the one-third mile clay oval on June 1 will be the AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprints, motorcycle engine powered IRA Lightning Sprints, Modifieds, Street Stocks and Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Cars. Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. with “Meet The Driver” slated 5:00-5:30 p.m. on the grandstand concourse, on track activity at 5:45 p.m. with racing to follow. Grandstand admission is $15.00 for ages 12 and over, $5.00 for ages 7-11, with ages 6 & under admitted free. Active Military with ID receive a $5.00 discount on grandstand admission.

Wilmot Raceway is located on Kenosha County Fairgrounds with free parking. For updates check wilmotraceway.com or the official Wilmot Raceway Facebook page.

SUMMARY – WILMOT RACEWAY, WILMOT, WISCONSIN – SATURDAY, MAY 25, 2019 – MEMORIAL WEEKEND SPECIAL AUTOMETER WISCONSIN WINGLESS SPRINTS: 25-LAP FEATURE: 1. Patrick Haynes, Bradley, IL; 2. Chris Dodd, Trevor; 3. Jimmy Sivia, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 4. Rusty Egan, Burlington; 5. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 6. Ryan Zielski, Ixonia; 7. Dennis Spitz, Lewisburg, KY; 8. Greg Olsen, Round Lake Heights, IL; 9. Scott Grissom, Winthrop Harbor; 10. Allen Hafford, Beach Park, IL; 11. Natalie Klemko, Bristol; 12. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 13. Derek Crane, Waukegan, IL; 14. Craig Campton, Pardeeville; 15. Doug Schenck, Cottage Grove; 16. Vince Bartolotta, Muskego; 17. Greg Alt, Delavan; 18. Jordan Paulsen, Trevor; 19. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 20. Charles Spoonmore, Somonauk, IL; 21. Paul Shaffer, Milwaukee; 22. James Walldan, Kenosha; 23. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 24. Shawn Swim, Zion, IL. 12-LAP “B” MAIN: 1. Bartolotta; 2. Spoonmore; 3. Alt; 4. Stanford; 5. Swim; 6. Crane; 7. Tim Eller, Zion; 8. George Gaertner, Salem; 9. Kevin Frederiksen, Milwaukee; 10. William Huck, Mukwonago; 11. Lance Walldan, Winthrop Harbor; 12. Steve Clott, Madison; 13. Zach Raidart, Antioch, IL. 8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Dodd; Sivia; Schenck; Zielski. BANDIT 4-CYLINDER STOCK CARS: 15-LAP FEATURE: 1. John Cole, McHenry, IL; 2. Tony Barron, Milwaukee; 3. Carl Benn, Lisbon; 4. Kody Molitor, Trevor; 5. Rob Wachsmuth, Williams Bay; 6. Scott Ludtke, Lyons; 7. Samuel VanPatten, Antioch; 8. John Tuttle, Chicago, IL; 9. Terry Davis, Oak Creek; 10. Ryan Johnson, Kenosha. 8-LAP HEAT WINNER: Barron. MODIFIEDS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Tim Hamburg, Dixon, IL; 2. Joe Huenefeld, Cedarville, IL; 3. Michael Wittenburg, Tichigan; 4. Mike Simons II, Genoa City; 5. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 6. John Dost, Bristol; 7. Josh Wirth, Elkhorn; 8. Morgan Sheppard, Hebron, IL; 9. David Wirth, Milwaukee; 10. Terry Kiedrowski, Union Grove; 11. Joel Seegert, Greenfield; 12. Mike Conn, Big Bend; 13. Zeke Bischofberger, Jefferson; 14. Chris Carlson, South Milwaukee; 15. Andrew Hamburg, Dixon; 16. Jack Williams, Rockford, IL. 8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Huenefeld; M. Simons. STREET STOCKS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Rob Maule, Hebron; 2. Cody Potter, Pell Lake; 3. Courtney Atkinson, Muskego; 4. Nick Smalley, Burlington; 5. Brandon Mertes, Antioch; 6. Craig Kreuser, Kenosha; 7. Terry Hillgendorf, McHenry; 8. James Jaime, Salem; 9. David Jones, North Chicago, IL; 10. Josh Gehrig, Pleasant Prairie; 11. Jason Jones, North Chicago; 12. Sarah Jasinski, Milwaukee; 13. Kevin Damrose, Big Bend; 14. Dirk Aissen, Antioch; 15. Mark Baker, Big Bend(Did Not Start). 8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Atkinson; Mertes. SUBMITTED BY MICHAEL H. BABICZ