MAY 13, 2017

(Wilmot, Wisconsin, Saturday, May 13, 2017)–Allen Hafford of Beach Park, Illinois scored his first 20-lap Interstates Racing Association (IRA) WingLess Sprints feature victory on Saturday, May 13 at Wilmot Raceway in Wilmot, Wisconsin.

Hafford weathered some late race caution periods which slowed the pace enroute to the victory.  Milwaukee’s Jordan Mattson took second edging out Jimmy Sivia of Winthrop Harbor, Illinois who had a career best third place finish.

First year WingLess sprint driver Rod Colburn was not injured despite flipping in the early going of the feature bringing out a red flag

The winner of the 20-lap Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprint (WIMS) feature was a first time winner as well.  C.J. Malueg of Johnsburg celebrated his 17th birthday as the Johnsburg High School student won his first career main event leading wire to wire in the non-stop event.  Adam Schroeder of Zion, Illinois was second with Ron Brannam of Barrington, Illinois taking third.

Union Grove’s Joel Crowbridge took his first 20-lap modified feature win of 2017 and second of his career at Wilmot in a hotly contested battle with runner-up Mike Simons II of Genoa City.  Nick Simons of Genoa City took third.

Kenosha’s Blake Kreuser scored his first ever feature win as the 20-year-old jumped out in front at the drop of the green and was never headed in the 20-lap street stock feature.  John Janssen of Richmond, Illinois finished second with Mark Baker of Big Bend taking third.

The only back to back feature winner was defending champion Courtney Atkinson of Muskego who took the checkered flag in the 15-lap Bandit 4-cylinder stock car feature following up on her opening night win.  John Cole of Palatine, Illinois was second with Brad Becker of Burlington third.

Three-time NASCAR Champion Tony Stewart will be behind the wheel of a 410-cubic inch winged outlaw sprint car at the historic facility for the first time on Saturday, May 20 as the 6th Annual Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series versus the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions Challenge invades the one-third mile clay oval Wilmot Raceway located on the Kenosha County Fairgrounds. The IRA WingLess Sprints and the WIMS Mini-Sprints are also on the program.

Pits will open at 3:00 p.m. with pit admission $35.00 per person, $25.00 for IRA members.

Grandstand admission is $28.00 for adults ages 12 and over; $5.00 for youth ages 7-11; and children ages 6 and under admitted to the grandstands free.

The grandstands will open at 4:00 p.m. with qualifying slated for 6:30 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.

For the latest updates check the Wilmot Raceway trackside hot line 262-862-2090, www.wilmotraceway.com or the Wilmot Raceway Facebook page.


INTERSTATES RACING ASSOCIATION(IRA) WINGLESS SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Allen Hafford, Beach Park, IL; 2. Jordan Mattson, Milwaukee; 3. Jimmy Sivia, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 4. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 5. Doug Schenck, Cottage Grove; 6. Derek Crane, Waukegan, IL; 7. Todd Lehr, Kokomo, IN; 8. George Gaertner, Salem; 9. Craig Campton, Madison; 10. Patrick Haynes, Manteno, IL; 11. Matt White, Kenosha; 12. Nathan Crane, Waukegan; 13. Garrett Deieso, Wadsworth, IL; 14. Dan Wade, Kenosha; 15. James Walldan, Winthrop Harbor; 16. Natalie Klemko, Northbrook, IL; 17. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 18. Ryan Zielski, Oconomowoc; 19. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 20. Rod Colburn, New Berlin; 21. George Gaertner III, Salem.

10-Lap Heat Winners: Cox; Mattson; C. Klemko.

Fast Qualifier: Schenck(:15.265 seconds).

WISCONSIN-ILLINOIS MINI-SPRINTS(WIMS): 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. C.J. Malueg, Johnsburg, IL; 2. Adam Schroeder, Zion, IL; 3. Ron Brannam, Barrington, IL; 4. Mark Heinert, Oak Creek; 5. Steve Clott, Bradley, IL; 6. Mike Neau, Kenosha; 7. John Kirk, Johnsburg; 8. Kevin Frederickson, Milwaukee; 9. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 10. Tim Brannam, Holiday Hills, IL; 11. Derek Fortier, Racine; 12. Morgan Sheppard, Genoa City; 13. Jeff Schmidt, Slinger; 14. Kurt Brown, Brookfield; 15. Kyle Koch, McFarland; 16. Nick Daywalt, Hubertus.

8-Lap Heat Winners: Heinert; Daywalt.

Fast Qualifier: Neau(:14.741 seconds).

MODIFIEDS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Joel Crowbridge, Union Grove; 2. Mike Simons II, Genoa City; 3. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 4. Austin Blume, Mt. Morris, IL; 5. John Dost, Bristol; 6. Tony Izzo, Capron, IL; 7. Terry Hilgendorf, McHenry, IL; 8. Jack Williams, Rockford, IL; 9. Chuck Turner, Waukesha; 10. Donnie Paskiewicz, Ottawa, WI; 11. Mike Knurr, Mukwonago; 12. Mike Conn, Big Bend; 13. Andrew Kiedrowski, Waupala; 14. Tim Hamburg, Dixon, IL; 15. Brad McGuire, New Berlin; 16. Josh Heinze, Waterford; 17. Danny Walter, Burlington; 18. Lee Tibbitts, Hebron, IL; 19. Steve Mueller, Eagle; 20. Mike Wittenburg, Waterford; 21. Steve Nickolaus, Milwaukee.

8-Lap Heat Winners: Kiedrowski; M. Simons; Knurr.

STREET STOCKS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Blake Kreuser, Kenosha; 2. John Janssen, Richmond, IL; 3. Mark Baker, Big Bend; 4. David Jones, North Chicago, IL; 5. Michael Olsen, Burlington; 6. Pat Rossman, Wadsworth; 7. Charlie Pinkalla, Racine; 8. Brandon Mertes, Antioch, IL; 9. Cody Erickson, Algonquin, IL; 10. Gerry Stollenwerk, Silver Lake; 11. Joey Marcomb, Antioch; 12. Jason Jones, North Chicago; 13. Carl Sturt, Wadsworth; 14. Chloe Baker, Milwaukee; 15. Chad Hagler, McHenry.

8-Lap Heat Winners: Mertes; Rossman.

BANDIT 4-CYLINDER STOCK CARS: 15-LAP FEATURE: 1. Courtney Atkinson, Muskego; 2. John Cole, Palatine, IL; 3. Brad Becker, Burlington; 4. Gary Mondus, Streamwood, IL; 5. Nick Smalley, Pleasant Prairie; 6. Kevin Gentry, Pell Lake; 7. Tony Barron, Milwaukee; 8. Steve Ellis, Pleasant Prairie; 9. David McKellips, Mt. Pleasant; 10. Dale Ehleiter, Union Grove; 11. Jordan Paulsen, Trevor(Did Not Start); 12. Chris Hall, Bassett(DNS).

8-Lap Heat Winner: Becker.