The Kenosha County Fairs’ Wilmot Raceway concluded their 2012 season with a action packed evening as they declared 4 division champions, plus included Late Model and Vintage Stock Car specials. Certainly something for everyone.

The R.A. Adams Enterprises / Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks came into the night with the tightest point chase of any division, and when the night ended Rob Maule not only edged Charles Pinkalla on the track, but also by just single digit points in the championship point standings. The two competed tremendously throughout the entire season, and ironically it was Maule and Pinkalla running 1-2 in their season finale. John Janssen a great addition to the series came home third in the A-main over veteran Brad Norgaard, and fellow series front runner Dan Huber.

The Don’s Auto Parts & Machine / Hoosier Tire Modifieds had their season come down to the final night also, as multi-time track champion Scott Kuxhouse entered the final evening with a small cushion over 2011 Modified Champ Chris Carlson. It was Joel Crowbridge who picked up the final A-main win of the season as he topped Jimmy Morrison for the victory, and while Carlson came home 3rd, and Kuxhouse 4th, it wasn’t enough to make up the point difference as Kuxhouse took the season championship. Brad McGuire came home 5th in a very competitive Mod A-main.

The Massive Speed Pro 4’s and Hawg Heaver Bandit 4’s finished their championship night finale which actually began a week before it was interrupted by rain. Dan Knight did what he had to do and captured both the A-main win and season championship in the Bandit division. Knight was able to take advantage of Brandon Feit’s misfortune, as Feit crashed out in his heat race the week prior making him ineligible for the make up finale, so he had to sit out while Knight went on to top the Bandit class in the A-main and gain enough points to take the championship away from the absent Feit. Kris Regert, Jason Jones, and Rick Isaacson filled out the top 4 Bandit spots at the end of the A-main. Scott Redden topped division champ Joe Summers and Doug Jones in the Pro 4 A-main.

The WDLMA Late Models brought a very talented 22 car field to Wilmot for their annual race night. The Late Models are becoming a popular Wilmot attraction. Despite a rough A-main start, the series provided action galore once they got a few laps in. Regional powerhouse Brett Sievert took top honors as he held off the incredible 21st to 2nd charge of Mitch McGrath. McGrath was subbing for local Late Model superstar Russ Scheffler. Craig Schueffner, Brad Mueller, and Jim Schmidt completed a very fast top five.

The Tibor Illinois Vintage Stock Car series brought out some outstanding equipment which were just as fast as they were good looking. Tim Hamburg’s 71 Chevelle took the A-main win over the 72 Camaro of Adam Laurie, the 64 Chevelle of Tom Loomis, the 57 Chevy of Ron Wilson, and the 67 Chevelle of Pat Heaney.

Jimmy Morrison and Pat Rossman won “Dash For Cash” in their respective divisions, a nice season ending bonus race put together by Wilmot Raceway track official Tony Jenkins.

A great field of cars were on hand filling the Wilmot raceway pit area. Congratulations to all involved, and to our September 15th winners and division champions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>