Balog, N. Simons, Stear Score Father’s Day Weekend Victories

Bill Balog of Hartland, originally from Alaska, might have liked some of the cool native land temperatures following a hotly contested a late race win in the 30-lap Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association (IRA) feature highlighting Wilmot Raceway’s Father’s Day weekend racing action Saturday, June 16.    Genoa City’s Nick Simons picked up his first 20-lap modified feature of the season taking the lead in the closing laps.
Ion Stear of Harvard, Illinois chalked up his third 20-lap Wisconsin-Illinois mini-sprint feature of the season at Wilmot.
“It was hot out there, but the win feels great because our team, sponsors and fans have stayed behind us,” said 8-time IRA Champion Balog, who won his second IRA feature of 2018.  “Scott(Nietzel) was tough and Scott Biertzer was strong, too.  Hopefully we can keep things going now.”
“It’s been a couple years since we’ve finished on the front straightaway,” said Biertzer, who overtook Nietzel on the white flag lap for the runner-up finish.  “It feels great to run well in front of these fans here at Wilmot.”
“This was a brand new car and I guess it had more in it than I thought,” said Nietzel. “It feels great to run so well here because it’s been a while since we’ve had a good finish in front of these Wilmot fans.”
Chase Briscoe of Mitchell, Indiana was fourth.  Jake Blackhurst of Hanna City, IL was fifth.
Nick Simons overtook Mukwonago’s Mike Knurr with two laps to go after the pair went wheel to wheel following a restart with four laps to go.  Knurr held the point for the first 16 non-stop laps.  “It was a lot of fun inside the car and I hope it was as much fun for the fans,” said N. Simons, joined in victory lane by his dad.  “This is Father’s Day weekend and what a great way to celebrate it.”
Eagle’s Steve Mueller was third.  Cedarville’s Joe Huenfeld was fourth.  Franklin’s Scott Barnharst fifth.
Stear shot to the inside of early race leader Nick Sheridan of Fox Lake, IL six laps into the main, going on to an emotional Father’s Day weekend win of his own. “I have to thank my dad, family, and everybody who supports me in doing this,” said Stear, brought to tears in victory lane.  “It’s a great win.”
Waukesha’s Mark Heinert came on to take second.  Nick Petska of Spring Grove, IL was third, coming from 11th in the original starting grid. Tim Brannam of Holiday Hills, IL was fourth.  Slinger’s Jeff Schmidt fifth.
Family Night sponsored by William W. Meyer & Sons of Libertyville, IL is scheduled Saturday, June 23.  Michael Glasder of Harvard, IL, 29-year-old 2018 U.S. Olympic Team Trials Champion and Ski Jumping Team member, sponsored by Meyer & Son, will be on hand to meet fans.  Competing on the 1/3-mile clay oval will be AutoMeter WingLess Sprints, modifieds, street stocks and Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Cars.
Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. with on track activity at 6:00 and racing to follow.  Family Night grandstand admission is $15.00 for anyone ages 12 & over with everyone ages 11 & under admitted free.  Active military with an ID card receive a $5.00 discount.
For updates check the Wilmot Raceway Facebook page or website
BUMPER TO BUMPER INTERSTATE RACING ASSOCIATION OUTLAW SPRINTS: 30-LAP FEATURE: 1. Bill Balog, Hartland; 2. Scott Biertzer, West Bend; 3. Scotty Nietzel, Beaver Dam; 4. Chase Briscoe, Mitchell, IN; 5. Jake Blackhurst, Hanna City, IL; 6. Scotty Thiel, Sheboygan; 7. Todd Daun, Pleasant Prairie; 8. Mike Reinke, Howards Grove; 9. Brandon McMullen, Plymouth; 10. Matt Vandervere, Zion, IL; 11. Jordan Goldesberry, Springfield, IL; 12. Steve Meyer, Sheboygan Falls; 13. Justin Henderson, Tea, SD; 14. Scott Uttech, New Berlin; 15. Russel Borland, Kewaskum; 16. Trey Datweiler, Herscher, IL; 17. Wayne Modjeski, Oak Creek; 18. Jereme Schroeder, Lake Villa, IL; 19. Mike Decker, Silver Lake; 20. Bill Wirth, Cudahy; 21. Jim Moughan, Springfield, IL; 22. Kris Spitz, Salem; 23. Jeremy Schultz, Beaver Dam; 24. Raymond Hensley, Trevor.
12-LAP “B” MAIN: 1. Henderson; 2. Moughan; 3. Schroeder; 4. Datweiler; 5. Dave Uttech, Kenosha; 6. Austin Deblauw, Holiday Hills, IL; 7. Nick Matuszewski, Antigo; 8. Jimmy Fifield, Hewitt, IL; 9. Keith Fellner, Sturtevant; 10. Hunter Custer, Chippewa Falls; 11. Alan Gilbertson, Kasson, MN.
10-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Wirth; Nietzel; Thiel; Daun.
FAST QUALIFIER: Schultz(:12.913 seconds).
MODIFIEDS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 2. Mike Knurr, Mukwonago; 3. Steve Mueller, Eagle; 4. Joe Huenefeld, Cedarville; 5. Scott Barnharst, Franklin; 6. Tony Izzo, Capron, IL; 7. Lee Tibbitts, Hebron, IL; 8. John Dost, Bristol; 9. Dustin Kroening, Hebron, IL; 10. Al Atkinson, Muskego; 11. Mike Simons II, Genoa City; 12. Mike Conn, Big Bend; 13. Dustin Jackson, New Berlin; 14. John Hill, Waterford; 15. Terry Hilgendorf, McHenry, IL; 16. Andrew Kiedrowski, Waupaca; 17. Jack Williams, Rockford, IL.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: N. Simons; M. Simons.
FAST QUALIFIER: N. Simons(:16.558 seconds).
WISCONSIN-ILLINOIS MINI-SPRINTS: 20-LAP FEATURE: 1. Ion Stear, Harvard, IL; 2. Mark Heinert, Waukesha; 3. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL; 4. Tim Brannam, Holiday Hills, IL; 5. Jeff Schmidt, Slinger; 6. C.J. Malueg, Johnsburg, IL; 7. John Smith, St. Charles, IL; 8. Mike Neau, Kenosha; 9. Ron Brannam, Barrington, IL; 10. Michael Ungar, Madison; 11. Morgan Sheppard, Genoa City; 12. Nick Sheridan, Fox Lake, IL; 13. Bob Andrews, Kenosha; 14. Josh Rehberg, Milwaukee; 15. Adam Schroeder, Zion, IL.
8-LAP HEAT WINNERS: Malueg; Heinert.
FAST QUALIFIER: Stear(:14.580 seconds).