Going from wire to wire Derek Crane of Waukegan, Illinois scored the victory in the 25-lap Interstate Racing Association WingLess Sprint Car feature on opening night, Saturday, May 6, at Wilmot Speedway in Wilmot, Wis.
    Milwaukee’s Jordan Mattson finished second with Jake Kouba of Minneapolis, Minnesota third.
    Leading just the final two laps of the 20-lap feature, Nick Daywalt of Hubertus overtook his younger brother, Kyle Daywalt of Hartford who had lead the first 18 circuits, for the Wisconsin-Illinois Mini-Sprints(WIMS) win. K. Daywalt held on for second with fast qualifier C.J. Malueg of Johnsburg, Illinois third.
    Tim Hamburg of Dixon, Illinois took top honors in the 20-lap modified main event when race leader Nick Simons got caught in a tangle with some lapped cars while holding a comfortable lead. Mike Simons II of Genoa City was second with Austin Blume of of Mt. Morris, Illinois third.
    Defending and two-time champion Pat Rossman of Wadsworth, Illinois picked up the win when he and race leader Blake Kreuser of Kenosha got together in turn one of the white flag lap.  Rossman went on for the victory with Brandon Mertes of Antioch, Illinois second and Kreuser recovered for third.
    The Bandit 4-cylinder stock car feature provided a wild start with two several cars tangling.  Jake Balk of South Milwaukee got the worst of it as he ended up rolling his car completely over, landing on all four wheels coming out of turn four.  Balk was transported to a local hospital as a precaution.
    Courtney Atkinson of Muskego, the 2016 Wilmot Champion and first ever female season title holder in the track’s long history, came on to score the win the 12-lap Bandit feature.  David McKellips of Mt. Pleasant was second with John Cole of Palatine, Illinois third.
    Wilmot Raceway, located on the Kenosha County Fairgrounds, resumes action on the one-third mile clay oval on Saturday, May 13 featuring IRA WingLess Sprints, modifieds, WIMS mini-sprints, street stocks and Bandit 4-cylinder stock cars.  Grandstands open at 5 p.m. with racing slated for 6:45 p.m.  Grandstand adult admission is $12.00 for ages 12 and older; $5.00 for ages 7-11; with ages 6 and under admitted free.
    For the latest updates phone the trackside raceline 262-862-2090 or check the official track website or the track Facebook page.
INTERSTATE RACING ASSOCIATION (IRA)WINGLESS SPRINTS 25-Lap Feature: 1. Derek Crane, Waukegan, IL; 2. Jordan Mattson, Milwaukee; 3. Jake Kouba, Minneapolis, MN; 4. Chris Klemko, Bristol; 5. Tim Cox, Park City, IL; 6. Matt White, Kenosha; 7. Jimmy Kouba, Byron, MN; 8. Jimmy Sivia, Winthrop Harbor, IL; 9. George Gaertner, Salem; 10. Nathan Crane, Waukegan; 11. Craig Campton, Madison; 12. Anna Hippe, Albertville, MN; 13. Doug Schenck, Cottage Grove; 14. Allen Hafford, Beach Park, IL; 15. Dan Wade, Kenosha; 16. James Walldan, Winthrop Harbor; 17. Rod Colburn, New Berlin; 18. George Gaertner III, Salem; 19. Natalie Klemko, Northbrook, IL; 20. Ryan Zielski, Oconomowoc(Did Not Start); 21. Garrett Deieso, Wadsworth, IL(DNS); 22. Nick Petska, Spring Grove, IL(DNS)
10-Lap Heat Winners: N. Crane; Jimmy Kouba; Jake Kouba.
Fast Qualifier: C. Klemko(:15.490 seconds).
WISCONSIN-ILLINOIS MINI-SPRINTS: 20-Lap Feature: 1. Nick Daywalt, Hubertus; 2. Kyle Daywalt, Hartford; 3. C.J. Malueg, Johnsburg, IL; 4. Mark Heinert, Oak Creek; 5. Randy Stanford, Kenosha; 6. Jeff Schmidt, Slinger; 7. Mike Neau, Kenosha; 8. Derek Fortier, Racine; 9. Kyle Koch, McFarland; 10. Morgan Sheppard, Genoa City; 11. Ron Brannam, Barrington, IL; 12. Kurt Brown, Brookfield; 13. Kevin Fredericksen, Milwaukee; 14. John Kirk, Johnsburg; 15. Tim Brannam, Holiday Hills, IL(DNS); 16. Adam Schroeder, Zion, IL(DNS).
8-Lap Heat Winners: R. Brannam; N. Daywalt.
Fast Qualifier: Malueg(:15.416 seconds).
MODIFIEDS: 20-Lap Feature: 1. Tim Hamburg, Dixon, IL; 2. Mike Simons II, Genoa City; 3. Austin Blume, Mt. Morris, IL; 4. Mike Wittenburg, Waterford; 5. Joel Crowbridge, Union Grove; 6. Josh Heinze, Waterford; 7. Nick Simons, Genoa City; 8. Steve Mueller, Eagle; 9. John Dost, Bristol; 10. Jim Cadd, Muskego; 11. Brian Cumbridge, Franksville; 12. Donnie Paskiewicz, Ottawa, WI; 13. Blaze March, Muskego; 14. Lee Tibbitts, Hebron, IL; 15. Jack Williams, Rockford, IL; 16. Brad McGuire, New Berlin; 17. Mike Conn, Big Bend; 18. Danny Walter, Burlington; 19. Mike Knurr, Mukwonago; 20. Terry Hillgendorf, McHenry, IL; 21. Tony Izzo, Capron(DNS); 22. Chuck Turner, Waukesha(DNS).
Heat Winners: Blume; N. Simons; M. Simons.
STREET STOCKS: 20-Lap Feature: 1. Pat Rossman, Wadsworth, IL; 2. Brandon Mertes, Antioch; 3. Blake Kreuser, Kenosha; 4. Charlie Pinkalla, Racine; 5. Gerry Stollenwerk, Silver Lake; 6. John Janssen, Richmond, IL; 7. David Jones, North Chicago, IL; 8. Cody Erickson, Algonquin, IL; 9. Mark Baker, Big Bend; 10. Joey Marcomb, Antioch; 11. Steve Rack, Pleasant Prairie; 12. Carl Benn, Lisbon; 13. Jeny Swiercz, McHenry; 14. Jason Jones, North Chicago; 15. Carl Sturt, Wadsworth; 16. Michael Olsen, Burlington.
8-Lap Heat Winners: Rossman; Mertes.
BANDIT 4-CYLINDER STOCK CARS: 12-Lap Feature: 1. Courtney Atkinson, Muskego; 2. David McKellips, Mt. Pleasant; 3. John Cole, Palatine, IL; 4. Tony Barron, Milwaukee; 5. Nick Smalley, Burlington; 6. James Creekmore, Zion; 7. Kevin Gentry, Pell Lake; 8. Chris Hall, Bassett; 9. Brad Becker, Burlington; 10. Jay Orr, South Milwaukee; 11. Jake Balk, South Milwaukee; 12. Dale Ehleiter, Union Grove; 13. Gary Mondus, Streamwood, IL(DNS).
8-Lap Heat Winner: Balk.